You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
- Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThis e-book collection is valuable across various engineering fields, including biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology, and chemistry. The platform also includes technical reference books, interactive graphs and tables, and data on material and substance properties. Additionally, the Data Search tool allows users to create queries focused on different materials or substances.
- IEEE/Wiley eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis eBook collection covers various subjects, including electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics, alongside emerging research areas such as bioengineering, power and energy, and communication technologies.
- IET Digital Library eBooks This link opens in a new windowThe IET Digital Library provides a comprehensive collection of eBooks, journals, conference publications, and seminar digests that cover a wide range of engineering and technology topics. These topics include the built environment, computing, robotics, energy, radar, sonar, navigation, telecommunications, transportation, and more.
- IEEE Xplore MIT Press eBooks Library : Computing & Engineering Collection. This link opens in a new windowThe library offers online access to titles in fields including computer science, artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering.
- IGI Global ebooks This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of reference books covering various subjects, including business and management, computer science, education, law, media and communications, medicine, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
- ACS Symposium Series This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed e-books developed from ACS technical divisions' symposia covering research from 1949 to the present. Topics include agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and more.
- Royal Society of Chemistry eBook Collection Complete This link opens in a new window
The collection covers the full breath of chemical sciences, from nanotechnology and smart materials to drug discovery and toxicology.
- SpringerLink Books: Engineering (2020)
The books in this collection cover engineering and many related fields including engineering control, electrical engineering, computational engineering, mechanics engineering, thermodynamics and civil engineering.
- SpringerLink Books: Engineering (2018)
This e-book collection covers topics such as including autonomous driving, genetic engineering, power electronics, renewable energy and more.
- SpringerLink Books: Engineering (2017)
This collection covers some of the most topical subjects of modern times such as autonomous driving, genetic engineering, and robotics.
- SpringerLink Books: Earth and Environmental Science (2020)
Up-to-date resources from trusted authors working around the world on topics such as water management, ecology, geology, environmental biotechnology, and sustainable development.
- SpringerLink Books: Environmental Science
This collection brings together up-to-date resources on topics including water management, ecology, geology, environmental biotechnology, and sustainable development.
- Cambridge University Press online books This link opens in a new windowThis platform provides an extensive collection of online books through its primary academic site, Cambridge Core. It includes research monographs, academic reference works, textbooks, and resources for professionals and graduate students. You can find leading titles in various subjects, including Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Related topics in Library Help
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
