When looking for academic journal articles you can use the 'everything' search in Library Search or search directly in the databases below, which we’ve selected as being most relevant to your subject area.
Databases are the best place to find academic journal articles as they offer advanced search tools, metric data, and export options for referencing. These databases also often provide access to information types such as conference papers, book chapters, review articles, trade magazines, and more. BrowZine can also be used to explore e-journal titles in your subject.
While most of our collection is now available digitally, some titles may only be accessible in print. You can find these journal titles using an ‘everything except articles’ search in Library Search.
You’ll also find links to essential reading for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas.
Key Databases and E-journal Collections
Databases will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. Where full text is not available, look for the
link and follow this to see if we have the full text available via Library Search.
Subject databases
Subject databases are tailored to particular subject areas. They tend to use precise terminology relating to the subject area, making searches more accurate, and can include subject specific tools and features.
- Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of academic journals, magazines, and images relating to film and television studies. Includes topics such as cinematography, film and television theory, preservation and restoration, production, screenwriting, technical aspects and reviews.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Database containing full-text works of poetry, prose and drama from the 8th century to the present day written in the English language, together with a library of historical and contemporary criticism, and reference resources. LION includes full-text scholarly journals covering all aspects of literary studies alongside literary index, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
- Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new windowThe largest database of online music journalism, providing access to thousands of interviews, reviews and articles about artists of all genres, from Aaliyah to ZZ Top. Coverage dates back 50 years, and also includes 500 audio interviews.
- Times Literary Supplement Archive 1902-2014 This link opens in a new window
Full online content of this celebrated literary and arts weekly. Current print issues are with periodicals at PER 800 TIM.
- Film and Media Studies journalsA-Z list of links to online, open access, English-language Film and Media Studies related e-journals, plus other relevant scholarly, journal websites with at least some OA content.
Multidisciplinary databases
Much like Library Search, multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of topics and are a great place to scope your search, or to use if your topic covers more than one subject area.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers full access to scholarly journals, e-books, thematic collections, primary sources, and images (Artstor) across many subject areas.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large, multidisciplinary database, which indexes peer reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and trade publications. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research and set up citation alerts. Other useful tools include citation overviews, author and affiliation searching, visual analysis of search results and a journal analyser and author identifier tools (if you are interested in publishing work).
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Part of the multidisciplinary Web of Science Core Collection database, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index provides coverage from 1975 to present, of articles from leading journals in a broad range of arts and humanities disciplines. Includes useful tools such as cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research and set up citation alerts; and author searching so you can quickly find experts in your field.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
