When looking for academic journal articles you can use the 'everything' search in Library Search or search directly in the databases below, which we’ve selected as being most relevant to your subject area.
Databases are the best place to find academic journal articles as they offer advanced search tools, metric data, and export options for referencing. These databases also often provide access to information types such as conference papers, book chapters, review articles, trade magazines, and more. BrowZine can also be used to explore e-journal titles in your subject.
While most of our collection is now available digitally, some titles may only be accessible in print. You can find these journal titles using an ‘everything except articles’ search in Library Search.
You’ll also find links to essential reading for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas.
Key Databases and E-journal Collections
Databases will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. Where full text is not available, look for the
link and follow this to see if we have the full text available via Library Search.
Subject databases
Subject databases are tailored to particular subject areas. They tend to use precise terminology relating to the subject area, making searches more accurate, and can include subject specific tools and features.
- Art and Architecture Archive (parts 1 and 2) This link opens in a new windowA full text, full colour archive of art and architecture magazines from the 19th to 21st centuries. You can search across the whole archive, and the magazines are individually catalogued on Library Search.
- Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of academic journals, magazines, and images relating to film and television studies. Includes topics such as cinematography, film and television theory, preservation and restoration, production, screenwriting, technical aspects and reviews.
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Fully digitised archives of 26 LGBT publications, mainly from the UK and USA. Coverage dates from 1954 to 2015 (depending on the specific publication).
- PhilPapersPhilPapers is a comprehensive index (2.4 million entries) and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers, including journals, books and archives. The linked database PhilArchive provides access to open access publications.
- Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new windowThe largest database of online music journalism, providing access to thousands of interviews, reviews and articles about artists of all genres, from Aaliyah to ZZ Top. Coverage dates back 50 years, and also includes 500 audio interviews.
- Times Literary Supplement Archive 1902-2019 This link opens in a new window
Full online historic archive of this celebrated weekly publication, with article topics ranging from literature and criticism to history, science, politics, and art.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. It is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
All databases should have a help section with tips and tricks on how to get the best out of using them, so do make yourself familiar with them. You also may find the following helpful:
Film and Television Literature Index
- EBSCO Host supportVideo Tutorials of help and support. Useful when learning how to use the Historical Abstracts database.
Scopus
- Scopus supportHelp and support on how to access and use Scopus.
- Scopus TutorialsStep by step visual guides to searching Scopus.
JSTOR
- JSTOR supportHelp and support on how to search on JSTOR
Multidisciplinary databases
Much like Library Search, multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of topics and are a great place to scope your search, or to use if your topic covers more than one subject area.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAs a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource, this database indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications. It supports cited reference searching to explore the literature in depth, along with tools for citation tracking, author and affiliation searches, visual analysis of results, journal analysis, and author identification for those interested in publishing.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers full access to scholarly journals, e-books, thematic collections, primary sources, and images (Artstor) across many subject areas.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Part of the multidisciplinary Web of Science Core Collection database, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index provides coverage from 1975 to present, of articles from leading journals in a broad range of arts and humanities disciplines. Includes useful tools such as cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research and set up citation alerts; and author searching so you can quickly find experts in your field.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
