LibGuides: Food and land management and marketing: Journals and databases

When looking for academic journal articles you can use the 'everything' search in Library Search or search directly in the databases below, which we’ve selected as being most relevant to your subject area.

Databases are the best place to find academic journal articles as they offer advanced search tools, metric data, and export options for referencing. These databases also often provide access to information types such as conference papers, book chapters, review articles, trade magazines, and more. BrowZine can also be used to explore e-journal titles in your subject.

While most of our collection is now available digitally, some titles may only be accessible in print. You can find these journal titles using an ‘everything except articles’ search in Library Search.

You’ll also find links to essential reading for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas.

Key Databases and E-journal Collections

Databases will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. Where full text is not available, look for the link and follow this to see if we have the full text available via Library Search.

Subject databases

Subject databases are tailored to particular subject areas. They tend to use precise terminology relating to the subject area, making searches more accurate, and can include subject specific tools and features.

Bibliographic databases give you an overview of the literature in a subject area. They provide an index to journal articles and conference papers from a wide range of publishers.

AgEcon This link opens in a new window
AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papers, conference papers and journal articles.
Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate is a full text database providing peer reviewed journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. It includes company profiles, business cases, SWOT analyses and industry and market reports.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts is a comprehensive agriculture and land use database, containing information from 1910 to date

CABI Cases
A collection of peer-reviewed practical, educational case studies covering industry practice, applicable research and real examples in the fields of agriculture, animal science, food science and nutrition, and land use.

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. Approximately 375,000 records are added yearly.
ENDS Report This link opens in a new window
Analyses environmental policy and legislation and offers commentary and analysis on the implications for business across the carbon, environmental and sustainability agenda.
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
IChemE journal archive This link opens in a new window
The Institution of Chemical Engineers has digitised its journal archive from 1923-1996. The archive, in PDF format, is fully searchable by volume and author, and by keyword across the full text of every article. The archive from 1997 is included with current online subscriptions. Covers topics such as: biotechnology, digitisation, environmental control, hazard management, fluid mechanics, formulation & particle processing, materials & catalysis, and more!
Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
As well as all aspects of engineering, Knovel is useful for biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology and chemistry. Subjects covered include technical reference books. There are Interactive graphs and tables,material and substance properties data and interactive equations. The Data Search tool can be used to build queries around different materials or substances.
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks
Global Think Tanks is a collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. It provides in-depth search and access to some 5 million reports from over 25,000 organisations.
Proquest Natural Science This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection includes key agriculture, aquatic science, biology, dentistry and nutrition databases, with many full text journals.
Springer Protocols
Peer-reviewed life science and biomedical research protocols compiled from Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, Neuromethods, the Biomethods Handbook, the Proteomics Handbook, and Springer Laboratory Manuals.

World Checklist of Selected Plant Families (WCSP)
WCSP is an international collaborative programme that provides the latest peer reviewed and published opinions on the accepted scientific names and synonyms of selected plant families.It allows you to search for all the scientific names of a particular plant, or the areas of the world in which it grows (distribution).

Wiley Digital Archives: Environmental science and history.
Explores critical aspects of anthropogenic change, with unique and rare archival collections from multiple, global sources, including collections on Deforestation, Agriculture, Livestock, and Fisheries (Food Production); Ecology, Botany, Biodiversity, and Extinction; Water Sources, Irrigation, Wetlands, and Hydrology.

E-journal collections, whilst not as comprehensive as databases, will normally give you subject focused results and often include the full text.

CSIRO Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text journals from CSIRO publishing, Australia's Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides full text-access to journal articles published by Elsevier.

bioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is an open access online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. Covers subject such as animal behaviour, biochemistry, bioengineering, biology, genetics, pharmacology, Zoology and more.

CAB Abstracts Basic Searching - Tutorial
This tutorial demonstrates a basic search on CAB Abstracts.
Knovel LibGuide
Resources and tools to get started with—and the get the most out of—Knovel.
ScienceDirect LibGuide
Help and support on how to access and use Science direct
Scopus LibGuide
Help and support on how to access and use Scopus.
Web of Science help
Video tutorials and guides.

Multidisciplinary databases

Much like Library Search, multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of topics and are a great place to scope your search, or to use if your topic covers more than one subject area.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
As a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource, this database indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications. It supports cited reference searching to explore the literature in depth, along with tools for citation tracking, author and affiliation searches, visual analysis of results, journal analysis, and author identification for those interested in publishing.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database, which indexes scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research. Use citation reports to see citation activity and geographical trends and the ‘analyse results’ tool to identify trends and publication patterns.