You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
- BAR Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
An online collection of academic archaeological research, BAR Digital provides full text access to titles published from 1974 to date. It includes both BAR’s British and international series, and covers archaeological research, excavation reports and other important series from around the world.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central delivers a breadth and depth of e-books from scholarly sources, including university presses and other top publishers.
- OECD iLibrary Environment & Sustainable Development This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary Environment and Sustainable Development brings together in a single subscription core data and analysis in this subject available from the OECD, in PDF format as well as in interactive database format when available.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink eBooks cover all subjects. In the SpringerLink search bar type 'Lecture Notes in' to discover complete collections for your subject area.
Related topics in Library Help
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
