Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.
Explore past landscapes and visualise change through time with Historic Digimap. Access to scanned maps of Great Britain dating back to 1840 with the ability to view maps from different times side-by-side making visual comparisons easy. The historic map collection is extensive, however map series rarely provide complete coverage of Great Britain.
Geology Digimap provides map data at a number of different scales from the British Geological Survey (BGS) along with the BGS Lexicon of Named Rock Units and the Onshore Borehole Index.
Access the most detailed spatial data and marine charts for the waters around Great Britain. Marine charts provide detailed information about both offshore and near-shore areas while the vector data accessible through Marine Digimap is the most detailed data available describing our coastal environments and includes gridded bathymetry, socioeconomic and conservation layers.
Aerial Digimap provides high resolution (25cm) vertical aerial imagery data of Great Britain from Getmapping Plc. The data is provided in raster format for use in GIS and CAD applications.
Lidar Digimap provides digital terrain models, digital surface models, point cloud data and vertical aerial photography. The data is available to download for use in GIS and CAD applications.
Environment Digimap provides Land Cover Maps of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology (CEH). The data is available in raster and vector format for a number of different years.
Global Digimap provides access to global datasets in cartographic styles and downloadable formats that are useful to you. The service provides an easy to use interface to allow you to browse, annotate and print global maps. There is a data download facility providing access to global datasets for use in GIS software.
Society Digimap provides a wealth of census and socio-economic data for Great Britain. The processing required to visualise Census and other demographic datasets can be a barrier to use for many interested in the value of the datasets. By providing these datasets as layers to visualise along with high quality Ordnance Survey data, users can access the rich information to gain valuable insights for their areas of interest without the need to learn how to use a GIS.
Pilot Digimap primarily comprises two applications, one for creating maps online, the other for downloading data which enables further analysis and investigation in other packages:
Verisk Digimap provides access to three data products from Verisk UK.
agCensus Digimap offers access to a time-series database of grid square based data derived from the regular Agricultural Censuses of England, Scotland and Wales.
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7662
Philip Robinson Library
Jesmond Road West
Newcastle upon Tyne
Visiting the Library
Book an appointment
© Newcastle University 2019
This work is licensed under an Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0).