When looking for academic journal articles you can use the 'everything' search in Library Search or search directly in the databases below, which we’ve selected as being most relevant to your subject area.
Databases are the best place to find academic journal articles as they offer advanced search tools, metric data, and export options for referencing. These databases also often provide access to information types such as conference papers, book chapters, review articles, trade magazines, and more. BrowZine can also be used to explore e-journal titles in your subject.
While most of our collection is now available digitally, some titles may only be accessible in print. You can find these journal titles using an ‘everything except articles’ search in Library Search.
You’ll also find links to essential reading for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas.
Key Databases and E-journal Collections
Databases will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. Where full text is not available, look for the
link and follow this to see if we have the full text available via Library Search.
Subject databases
Subject databases are tailored to particular subject areas. They tend to use precise terminology relating to the subject area, making searches more accurate, and can include subject specific tools and features.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.
- Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) providing an index of journal articles from 1946 in the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine and health. This encompasses medical, dental and biomedical journals, and covers related topics such as clinical care, public health, health policy development, as well as aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics and chemistry.
- CINAHL (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Database indexing nursing and allied health literature including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Topics covered include nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and other allied health disciplines.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The databases are: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) , which houses all Cochrane Reviews and protocols for Cochrane Reviews; the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), a database of reports of studies that may be relevant for inclusion in Cochrane Reviews; the Cochrane Methodology Register, a database of publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials; and the About The Cochrane Collaboration database, which contains information on the groups, such as Cochrane Review Groups, that make up the Collaboration. Also included are: the Health Technology Assessment Database, which brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database, which contains quality‐appraised economic evaluations.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Database indexing professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, education, business, sociology, sports and linguistics.
- Springer ProtocolsPeer-reviewed life science and biomedical research protocols compiled from Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, Neuromethods, the Biomethods Handbook, the Proteomics Handbook, and Springer Laboratory Manuals.
- Royal College of Physicians (RCP) Archive
Archive of historical material from the 14th to 20th centuries showcasing the RCP's role in relation to contemporary medical advances. Highlights include medical manuals, sketches, maps, books, journals, reports, personal papers and recipes. Topics covered include: folk medicine, medieval medicine, anatomy, history of vaccination, public health, history of pharmacology, pandemics in history, and more.
Multidisciplinary databases
Much like Library Search, multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of topics and are a great place to scope your search, or to use if your topic covers more than one subject area.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAs a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource, this database indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications. It supports cited reference searching to explore the literature in depth, along with tools for citation tracking, author and affiliation searches, visual analysis of results, journal analysis, and author identification for those interested in publishing.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database which indexes scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research. Use citation reports to see citation activity and geographical trends and the ‘analyse results’ tool to identify trends and publication patterns.
- ProQuest Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database and the Biological Science Database. It provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Databases Help
Click on the links to watch a Video on searching the Database or consult the Workbooks below:
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
