Books intro
You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Books - Library Search
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
Books - E-book collections
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
E-books - tabbed box blank
- AAS-IOP Astronomy Books This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books from the American Astronomical Society (AAS) and Institute of Physics (IOP) covering key areas of astronomy, astrophysics, solar physics, and planetary science.
- Cambridge University Press online books This link opens in a new windowThis platform provides an extensive collection of online books through its primary academic site, Cambridge Core. It includes research monographs, academic reference works, textbooks, and resources for professionals and graduate students. You can find leading titles in various subjects, including Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
- De Gruyter Books This link opens in a new window
This collection of books and journal articles covers subject areas across humanities, sciences, technology, law, medicine and social sciences.
- IEEE Xplore MIT Press eBooks Library : Computing & Engineering Collection. This link opens in a new windowThe library offers online access to titles in fields including computer science, artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering.
- IEEE/Wiley eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis eBook collection covers various subjects, including electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics, alongside emerging research areas such as bioengineering, power and energy, and communication technologies.
- IET Digital Library eBooks This link opens in a new windowThe IET Digital Library provides a comprehensive collection of eBooks, journals, conference publications, and seminar digests that cover a wide range of engineering and technology topics. These topics include the built environment, computing, robotics, energy, radar, sonar, navigation, telecommunications, transportation, and more.
- Institute of Physics (IOP) e-booksCollection of e-books covering key topics in physics, written by leading voices from across the physical sciences.
- IGI Global ebooks This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of reference books covering various subjects, including business and management, computer science, education, law, media and communications, medicine, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
- Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThis e-book collection is valuable across various engineering fields, including biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology, and chemistry. The platform also includes technical reference books, interactive graphs and tables, and data on material and substance properties. Additionally, the Data Search tool allows users to create queries focused on different materials or substances.
- Lecture Notes in Physics (Springer Books)
The Series provides access to peer-reviewed monographs, textbooks and lecture notes covering new developments in physics research and teaching.
- World Scientific Books: Nonlinear Science, Chaos & Dynamical Systems
A selection of full-text e-book titles covering research and theories on complex phenomena, from fractals to complex systems.
- World Scientific Books: Physics and Astronomy
A selection of full-text e-book titles covering subjects such as astrophysics and cosmology, particle physics and quantum fields, classical mechanics, computation physics, nuclear physics, optics and laser physics, quantum mechanics, and more.
- World Scientific User GuideA very handy guide from World Scientific showing you how to use this eBook collection. April 2020.
Did you know we regularly take out trials of new resources (e.g. databases and digitised archives)? Find out what we are currently trialling on our blog. If you are interested in the resource, please explore it and remember to send us feedback!
Books - Related topics in Library Help
Related topics in Library Help
Books - support and services header
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
