You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
- Bloomsbury collections : Politics & International Relations This link opens in a new window
Full-text e-book and reference collection covering topics such as: International relations, European politics, Middle East politics, Political history, Political theory and philosophy, Security and strategic studies...and more.
- Brill books EBA
E-book collection covering a broad range of subject areas.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series, with titles covering worldwide history from ancient to modern, as well as history of literature, language, music and theatre, philosophy, politics, and religion.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowEbook platform offering a wide range of e-books from scholarly sources, including university presses and leading publishers.
- Manchester University Press Hive: International Relations e-book collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides e-books written by leading names in the field covering key issues and debates on global issues such as foreign policy, gender, global ethics, environmental politics and terrorism.
- Manchester University Press Hive: Political studies 2020 e-book collection This link opens in a new window
The collection provides e-books written by leading names in the field covering political events, ideas, movements, roles of government, voters, parties and leaders, and the way these elements shape society as a whole.
- Manchester University Press Hive: Political studies 2021 e-book collection
The collection provides e-books written by leading names in the field covering political events, ideas, movements, roles of government, voters, parties and leaders, and the way these elements shape society as a whole.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science
An e-book collection of handbooks covering topics relevant to the field of Politics. Each handbook includes specially commissioned essays from experts in the discipline, presenting an authoritative perspective on current thinking, debates and research. To browse content, select the subject drop-down menu, then Social Sciences > Politics > Browse content in politics.
- Pluto Press Collections (Academic Library ebooks) This link opens in a new window
A large collection of full-text e-books across subjects such as politics, media, and cultural studies.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
An integrated full-text database offering full-text database access to peer-reviewed journals and e-books across different academic disciplines.
- Sustainable Development Goals Online
A curated library of digital content from Taylor and Francis supporting the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, including relevant book chapters and journal articles covering all 17 SDGs.
Related topics in Library Help
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
