You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
- ACLS Humanities ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of high quality, full-text, academic e-books covering subjects in humanities and social sciences.
- Brill books EBA
E-book collection covering a broad range of subject areas.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowEbook platform offering a wide range of e-books from scholarly sources, including university presses and leading publishers.
- OECD iLibrary Society This link opens in a new window
The OECD's research is brought together in this collection to help address current social and health challenges building towards an inclusive social policy promoting individual and collective well-being.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Sociology
A premier source for sophisticated reviews on cutting-edge topics. These scholarly research reviews are written by leading experts that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.
- Pluto Press Collections (Academic Library ebooks) This link opens in a new window
A large collection of full-text e-books across subjects such as politics, media, and cultural studies.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
An integrated full-text database offering full-text database access to peer-reviewed journals and e-books across different academic disciplines.
- Sustainable Development Goals Online
A curated library of digital content from Taylor and Francis supporting the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, including relevant book chapters and journal articles covering all 17 SDGs.
Related topics in Library Help
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
