Skip to main content
 

Biology: Archives and Special Collections

Key Library resources for Biology

What are Special Collections?

Special Collections are unique and rare resources held by Newcastle University's Robinson's Library.  We hold both archives and rare books.

Due to their rarity and their sometimes fragile condition, these items are not on the normal library shelves, but they are available to everyone in the Special Collections reading room.

What Collections are Available in the Robinson Library?

This guide will point you in the direction of some collections which are particularly relevant to your subject area.

For a wider look at more of our collections, and to see tips on ordering and using archives and rare books, there is also a Special Collections LibGuide ...

Rare Books Outside of the 'Rare Book Collections'

Not all of our rare books are in 'collections' with particular relevance to your subject area, we also have hundreds of rare and unique books which were acquired by the library individually, across a range of subjects, which might also be valuable to your research.

Just a few to get you started ...

We have plenty more ...

All of our rare books are on the library catalogue, so start your search by entering your topic area, author, or title into library search in the normal way.

To view items within the Special Collections department, you can then refine your search by clicking on the Special Collections Location.

Trevelyan Papers

The Trevelyan Papers represent several generations of the Trevelyan family whose home was Wallington Hall, Northumberland, and their diverse roles and interests. They include the professional and personal papers of:

Naturalist and geologist Walter Calverley Trevelyan  (1797-1870), reflecting his scientific interests.

Civil servant and colonial administrator Sir Charles Edward Trevelyan (1807-1886), who worked for the East India Company and the Home Civil Service as Assistant Secretary to the Treasury during the Irish Famine. 

Politician and author Sir George Otto Trevelyan (1838-1928), a Liberal M.P. and Chief Secretary for Ireland after the Phoenix Park murders.

Liberal and then Labour M.P. Sir Charles Philip Trevelyan (1870-1958), who was a founder of the Union of Democratic Control in World War I and later President of the Board of Education. There are some of his wife Molly's (1881-1966), papers including her diaries for 1892-1917.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:

Walter Calverley Tevelyan: Biology  Chemistry  Civil Engineering  Education  Geomatics  Physics  Social History  Zoology

Charles Edward Tevelyan:  Education  Political History  Politics

George Otto Trevelyan:  Biology  Physics  Political History  Politics  Sociology

Charles Philip Trevelyan:  Education   Political History  Politcs  Social History

More on Trevelyan Papers...

Entomology Collection

The Entomology Collection currently contains books on insects which were published between the late-Eighteenth and mid-Nineteenth Centuries, some of which have hand-coloured illustrations. The books are written in English, French or German, for the most part, with some in Latin.

Type of Material: Rare Books

Subject Areas:  Biology  Fine Art  Zoology

More on Entomology Collection...

Heslop Harrison (John) Notebooks and Albums

This is a small collection of notebooks and photograph albums which belonged to John William Heslop Harrison (1881-1967), at one time Professor of Botany at Newcastle University. The notebooks contain notes on plant biology, pollination and plant genetics while the albums include photographs of Iraq, dated 1938-1941. The collection also includes Proceedings of the University of Durham Philosophical Society 1955-1956 in various stages of editing.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:  Biology  Geography  International History  Political History

More on Heslop Harrison (John) Notebooks & Albums Collection...

Donaldson (Sir Liam) Archive

Material relating to the 15th Chief Medical Officer for England and Chancellor of Newcastle University Sir Liam Donaldson. Includes published and unpublished material covering Sir Liam's early professional career and achievements in public health and health care management in the Northern and Yorkshire regions. The majority of material relates to his time as Chief Medical Officer from 1998 - 2010, covering his major health and health care campaigns, including published reports and contextual material related to these reports.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:  Medicine and Surgery  Public Health  Political History  Politics  Social History  Media

More on Donaldson (Sir Liam) Archive...

Pybus (Professor Frederick) Archive

Personal and professional papers of distinguished medic and surgeon Professor F.C Pybus (1883-1975). Contains a large amount of correspondence on the subjects of history of medicine book-collecting, atmospheric pollution and cancer research. This includes correspondence with medical journals, M.P.s and government departments, as well as the Press and television. In keeping with Pybus' book collecting, there are also manuscripts by lumnaries in the field of medicine, such as Joseph Lister, Charles Darwin, Sir William Jenner, Sir Joseph Black, and John Hunter.

Type of Material: Archives

Subject Areas:  Environment  Medicine and History  Planning

Sustainability and Climate Change

More on Pybus (Professor Frederick) Archive...

20th Century Pamphlets

This is a collection of approximately 600 pamphlets and short publications on world affairs in the Twentieth Century. Many themes are covered, including politics, economics, civil liberty, democracy and religion, and many of the countries of the world feature.

Type of Material: Rare Books / Published Material

Subject Areas: General

More on 20th Century Pamphlets...