Skip to main content
 

Computing Science: Welcome & Help

Key Library resources for Computing Science

New Resources 2017/18

 

Great news! We've invested in a brilliant range of online resources for the new academic year. Following resource trials and consultation with students and staff, we've added digitised archives, ebooks, and journals.

Whatever your subject area, you're sure to find something useful. Just explore the tabs on this box for full details!

Loading

Welcome and Help

Welcome to the Library Guide for Computing Science students and staff  at Newcastle University.  

Please get in touch if you need help or advice in using any of our resources or if you have any comments about this guide: lib-sage@ncl.ac.uk

Scan the QR code to bookmark this Guide on your mobile device

To find out about general Library services, such as borrowing and renewing books, go to the main Library website

 Don't forget to check out our Welcome to Newcastle University Library Guide and our Geordie Guide

 

 

Get answers to your questions through our searchable knowledge base. If you prefer, you can tweet, email or text your query, just click on the logo to find out how. For detailed subject enquiries, contact lib-sage@ncl.ac.uk

Need help with Library jargon? check out our Library Language- what does it mean?

The SAgE Library team includes: Jenny Campbell, Lorna Smith, Aimee Cook, Yvonne Davison, Susan Millican and Christina Taylor.

We are here to help you to get the best from the Library's services and resources so feel free to contact us at any time.

Email the team: lib-sage@ncl.ac.uk

Need more in-depth guidance with your dissertation, thesis or project literature search? Why not book a one-to-one appointment with our helpful and knowledgeable Library team?

 Whether you're starting out and don't know where to begin, or further forward with your research, but worried you've missed something...or somewhere in the middle.....we're here to help!

In your appointment, we'll discuss your information needs in more detail, and suggest useful resources for you within and beyond the Library. We'll explain how to get the best out of them, and give you a personalised search plan to help you get organised.

We can help you in person or online, and we'll do our best to meet you on a day and time which suits you.

Book your appointment now for tailor-made advice.

Loading

New! Explore journals with BrowZine

Randell (Professor Brian) Archive

 

Brian Randell, Emeritus Professor in the School of Computing Science, has had a long and distinguished career, during which he has collected invaluable information and archival material chronicling the history of computers from their early beginnings.

The Randell Archive (1950 to 2009). Is now held in the Library’s Special Collections. It has been professionally catalogued by the Centre for Scientific Archives and the archive can be searched via theArchives Hub.

News

The Informed Learner

Our new Informed Learner pages bring together a range of resources to help students with information literacy related study skills.

Each topic includes a PDF help sheet and a video and often an interactive activity as well.

You’ll find it directly here: http://www.ncl.ac.uk/library/subject-support/informed-learner/  and also under the Subject Support section of the Library website.

We'd welcome any comments on the toolkit, please email aimee.cook@ncl.ac.uk

Loading
Loading

Faculty Liaison Librarian

Jenny Campbell's picture
Jenny Campbell
Contact:
I'm one of the Liaison Librarians for the Faculty of Science, Agriculture and Engineering. I have specific responsibility for supporting the information needs of staff, students and researchers in the following Schools and subject areas:

Civil Engineering & Geosciences
Computing Science
Electrical & Electronic Engineering
Mathematics & Statistics
Mechanical & Systems Engineering (including Reflex and REEM)
Physics

You can find my office on Level 4 in the Philip Robinson Library.

I'm also responsible for supporting staff and students on the following programmes in Singapore:

Electrical Power Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
0191 208 7640
Website / Blog Page

Computing Top Five

ACM Digital Library

Find journal articlesand conference papers

Web of Knowledge

A useful database for journal articles

Scopus

Find journal articles

Safari EBooks

Computing ebooks

IEEEXplore

Journals and conferences from IEEE