You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
An integrated full-text database offering full-text database access to peer-reviewed journals and e-books across different academic disciplines.
- Lecture Notes in Computer Science 1973 - 2019 This link opens in a new window
The series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), which includes Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics (LNBI), provides details of books covering new developments in computer science and information technology research, teaching, and education. Individual book titles can be accessed via Library Search.
- Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThis e-book collection is valuable across various engineering fields, including biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology, and chemistry. The platform also includes technical reference books, interactive graphs and tables, and data on material and substance properties. Additionally, the Data Search tool allows users to create queries focused on different materials or substances.
- IEEE Morgan & Claypool eBooks This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality eBook content in engineering and computer science, covering topics such as aerospace, bioengineering, computing, fields, waves, electromagnetics, geoscience, nuclear engineering, robotics, transportation, and more.
- IEEE/Wiley eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis eBook collection covers various subjects, including electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics, alongside emerging research areas such as bioengineering, power and energy, and communication technologies.
- Institute of Physics (IOP) e-booksCollection of e-books covering key topics in physics, written by leading voices from across the physical sciences.
- IET Digital Library eBooks This link opens in a new windowThe IET Digital Library provides a comprehensive collection of eBooks, journals, conference publications, and seminar digests that cover a wide range of engineering and technology topics. These topics include the built environment, computing, robotics, energy, radar, sonar, navigation, telecommunications, transportation, and more.
- IEEE Xplore MIT Press eBooks Library : Computing & Engineering Collection. This link opens in a new windowThe library offers online access to titles in fields including computer science, artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowEbook platform offering a wide range of e-books from scholarly sources, including university presses and leading publishers.
- Cambridge University Press online books This link opens in a new windowThis platform provides an extensive collection of online books through its primary academic site, Cambridge Core. It includes research monographs, academic reference works, textbooks, and resources for professionals and graduate students. You can find leading titles in various subjects, including Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
- IGI Global ebooks This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of reference books covering various subjects, including business and management, computer science, education, law, media and communications, medicine, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
- O'Reilly Open BooksBooks licenced under Creative Commons
- InTech Open Access booksInTech is the publisher of one of the largest multidisciplinary open access collection of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.
- De Gruyter Books This link opens in a new window
This collection of books and journal articles covers subject areas across humanities, sciences, technology, law, medicine and social sciences.
- World Scientific Books: Computer Science This link opens in a new window
A selection of full-text, e-book titles covering subjects such as Artificial Intelligence, Boolean networks, machine learning and data mining, robotics, computer security, bioinformatics and more.
- World Scientific User GuideA very handy guide from World Scientific showing you how to use this eBook collection. April 2020.
- A Dictionary of Computing byISBN: 9780191726576Publication Date: 2008The sixth edition of this established and authoritative dictionary is expanded to embrace recent developments. It provides comprehensive coverage of computer applications in industry, the office, science, education, and the home.
- A Dictionary of Statistics 3e byISBN: 0199679185Publication Date: 2014-05-13Written by authorities in the field, this dictionary provides concise, jargon-free definitions of all the terms likely to be encountered by students of statistics. Anyone who comes into contact with statistical terms will find this dictionary useful.
- A Dictionary of the Internet byISBN: 9780191744150Publication Date: 2013This dictionary provides thousands of terms related to the Web, software technology, jargon, e-commerce, security, and the technical and organizational infrastructure of the Internet. There are also useful links to relevant websites.
Did you know we regularly take out trials of new resources (e.g. databases and digitised archives)? Find out what we are currently trialling on our blog. If you are interested in the resource, please explore it and remember to send us feedback!
Related topics in Library Help
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
