LibGuides: Newspapers: International News Sources

Although the Library's online news resources are strongest for the UK, we do also provide access to a range of historic and contemporary international news resources. Our most comprehensive non-UK historic resources are from the USA, and you can see these in 'The Americas' section below. The availability of historic newspaper archives depends very much on digitisation programmes in the country concerned. In terms of contemporary news, nearly all international newspapers have their own web site, but you are unlikely to find free access to their entire archive. However, the Nexis database enables you to search across thousands of newspapers, news magazines and newswires from across the world (though primarily Europe and the USA), dating back to the 1990s to the present day (precise date coverage varies by title). You can search in various ways: by country, language, or search an individual newspaper.

International News Sources

The Americas
Other Countries

Accessible Archives (American history) This link opens in a new window
Online access to several American newspaper collections from the Civil War period, including Godey's Lady's Book (which includes colour images), The Liberator and the New York Herald.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Project to digitise 40,000 hours of public broadcasting from 1940s to present.
American newspapers on microfilm
We hold the following American newspapers, relating to African American history, on microfilm in our multimedia room on Level 4 (next to the information point):
Abolition and Emancipation; Arkansas Gazette; Birmingham News; Black Enterprise; Black Panther; Black World; Ebony; Liberation; News and Observer Raleigh; New South; Southern Patriot; Tan
American Prison Newspapers
Open access collection of historic prison newspapers from across the USA.

Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
The largest collection of fully searchable 18th and 19th century Caribbean newspapers, covering 140 titles from 22 islands. Essential sources for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.
Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A selection of full-text newspaper pages from 1789-1963.
Early American Newspapers 1801-1900 This link opens in a new window
Digitised content of 500,19th century newspaper titles, including regional weeklies, big-city dailies and many titles of unique historical significance.
Harper's Weekly 1857-1912 This link opens in a new window
Full text of this publication from 1857-1912, covering the American Civil War era, Reconstruction and the Gilded Age. Harper’s Weekly was the definitive newspaper of record for the latter part of the 19th century.

Independent Voices: alternative press newspapers
Open access collection of US alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals dating from the latter half of the 20th century.

New York Times Archive 1857-1922 This link opens in a new window
For more than a century, The New York Times has commanded international readership. You can browse or search the world news and personal stories captured by this Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper.
Nexis® Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni enables you to search across local and major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages.
For more information about Nexis Uni, read our blog post.

Austrian newspapers online 1810-1935 This link opens in a new window
Historic digitised collection of Austrian newspapers from 1810-1935.

BBC China Focus
BBC news focusing on China.
BBC Mundo
BBC news focusing on Latin America.
Europeana newspapers
Europeana newspapers enables users to search across millions of historic European newspapers.
EUscreen
Free online access to video, stills and audio from selected European broadcasters from 1900-present. Includes French, German and Catalan broadcasters amongst others.
Financial Times Chinese version
Chinese language version of the Financial Times.
German news channels online
BBC guide to German news channels online.
Historic French newspapers online
Digitised collections of several major French newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
International media links by country
Comprehensive listing of newspapers, TV and radio organisations for countries around the world.
IPTV
IPTV is managed by Newcastle University Language Resource Centre, and is available across campus. It provides access to live satellite TV channels from several countries, as well as news channels, feature films and documentaries in many languages, including English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Chinese.

Irish Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Digitised archive of Irish regional and national newspaper titles from the 17th century to date. New content is added daily.
Read our blog post for more information about this archive.
Nexis® Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni enables you to search across local and major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages.
For more information about Nexis Uni, read our blog post.

Punjab newspapers: selections 1874-1924
Available on CD-ROM.
Spanish newspapers online 1772-1933
Digitised collection of Spanish newspapers 1772-1933 from the Spanish National Library.
Trove (Australian newspaper archive)
Over 12 million pages of Australian newspapers from 1803 to the 1950s.

Subject support guide

Newspapers