The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. They were mostly published in London, but there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Provides an invaluable resource for the study of all aspects of British life in the 19th century – from art to business and from children to politics. Most of the materials in this extensive online collection have never been reissued since their original publication. It covers 600 titles, in two broad themes: Empire, and New Readerships.
The British Library's new newspaper reading room has recently opened at St Pancras, London. Full details of the extensive print, microform and digital news resources available, plus how to visit are here.
Some print newspaper collections are also available at the BL's Boston Spa reading room: http://www.bl.uk/notices/boston_spa_readingroom.html
Millions of pages of newspapers digitised from the British Library's collections. You can search the archive for free, but you have to pay to read articles (via passes ranging from two days to one year). Please note, this resource isn't available by subscription for academic libraries, but you can access it in Newcastle's public libraries.
Access to the full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late 17th to the early 20th century, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Search across multiple Gale e-resources at once (this includes most of our historic newspaper archives, except for The Observer/Guardian.) Also includes Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Punch.
Lexis@Library is primarily a legal database covering UK and EU case reports, legislation, and journals from a range of courts and jurisdictions, including the Commonwealth, Europe and the USA. It also provides access to UK national and regional newspapers, from the 1990s to today (click on News for full text access to all UK publications).
The largest database of online music journalism, providing access to thousands of interviews, reviews and articles about artists of all genres, from Aaliyah to ZZ Top. Coverage dates back 50 years, and also includes 500 audio interviews.
Archives of various UK newspapers, including the Daily/Sunday Express and The Star.
We don't subscribe to this database, but individual users can search for free, and buy short term access from around £7.50 to view full images and print/download.
This is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper covering politics, current affairs, local and national news, and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,0000 pages. It offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables.
One of the best-known and most-respected newspapers in the world. Every article, advertisement and market listing is included, making it a highly valuable to anyone studying the economic and business history and current affairs of the last 130 years. NEW! We've now added the archive from 2011-2016.
The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003), digitised from the original, and covering all content, including photographs and cartoons. The Guardian is also available from 1984 to date via LEXIS, and The Observer from 1990 to date (text only).
This pioneering photojournalism newspaper featured a whole stable of extraordinarily talented photographers, and was read by an estimated 80% of the British population at its peak. An essential resource for studying international social and political issues of the day, and how they were brought into popular consciousness.
This famous newspaper, which is editorially independent from The Times, features decades of news, comment and arts coverage, plus in-depth reports from its famous Insight Team. NEW! We've now added the archive for 2007-2017.
You can either search The Sunday Times on its own, or choose News Vault from the link to cross-search it along with all our other Gale newspaper products.
This contains full facsimile images of articles and pages. The entire newspaper is captured, including articles, advertisements and illustrations/photographs. The Times is also available via LEXIS from 1985 to date (text only).
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. It is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Box of Broadcasts provides access to over two million programmes from over 65 TV and radio channels, including most of the UK's freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. You can view archived programmes, record new ones, create clips and playlists and see transcripts. This resource is not available outside the UK.