We provide a number of different ways that you can access both UK and International Business news. Explore the resources below for more information.
Financial Times
The Financial Times is a world leading organisation who publishes business news and information. 
As staff or student at Newcastle University, you have access to the current Financial Times online, and the Financial Times Historical Archive.
FT.com provides online access to the last seven years of the Financial Times.
- Financial Times This link opens in a new window
Access full access to the current edition of the Financial Times via the FT.com website via Library Search for free. Search for current articles on hot topics in the business world, global economy and international affairs. When accessing FT.com for the first time log in using your Newcastle University username and password, then create your own personal 'MyFT' account to set up alerts and save topics of interest.
- Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2016 This link opens in a new window
One of the best-known and most-respected newspapers in the world. Every article, advertisement and market listing is included, making it a highly valuable to anyone studying the economic and business history and current affairs of the last 120 years.
*please note that we no longer have print copies of the FT in the Philip Robinson Library as stated in the video.
Financial Times Apps
The app allows you to consume FT even if you don't have mobile phone signal and is ideal if you travel frequently. To download the app for Android phones, simply visit the Google Play store. To download the App for your iPhone or iPad: Go to the App store* and download the new FT app. *The app works on iOS 12.1 or later.
ePaper
You can download a digital replica of the Financial Time printed newspaper every day. The pinch to zoom interface allows you to explore the day's news effortlessly.
The Economist
The Economist is a weekly published, English-language news and international affairs publication. As staff or student at Newcastle University, you have access to the current Economist online, and the Economist Historical Archive.
The most recent two years in print are shelved in the Philip Robinson Library at shelf mark PER 330 ECO on Level 3, and a full print run from 1933 in our Research Reserve.
- The Economist This link opens in a new windowThe Economist is a the weekly paper for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Current online access covers from 1997 onwards.
- The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides a fully searchable, complete facsimile edition of The Economist, covering politics, current affairs, business, trade, and news worldwide from its founding in the 19th century. With full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables, and a gallery of front covers, it serves as a valuable primary source for research spanning the 19th and 20th centuries and complements other historical archives.
What else do we have available?
- Bloomberg Businessweek Archive (1929-2002) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text content on business management, marketing, labour, finance, and economic policy. Also contains indexing, abstracting and full text for over 3,500 total issues and more than 65 years’ worth of content.
- Forbes Archive This link opens in a new window
We have access to the Forbes Archive from 1917-2000. This fully searchable full-text archive provides analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style.
- Fortune magazine archive
An extensive cover-to-cover collection of the long-running business magazine dating from its very first issue in February 1930 through December 2000. Fortune Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.
- Nexis Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new window
Search across local and major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages. Coverage is text only, and doesn’t include additional content such as images, layout, or adverts.