Economy functions in the ecosystem and cannot exist without it. The ecosystem provides the factors of production that fuel economic growth, such as the natural resources, labour and capital. The primary aim of sustainable economic practice is to manage the resources necessary for economic growth, in an efficient and ethical way so that they will be available for future generations.
Sustainability Databases
- Global Resource Information DatabaseGRID-Geneva is part of the Early Warning and Assessment Division of the UN Environment Programme's global group of environmental information centres. GRID-Geneva generates various types of resources including data platforms, publications, visuals (maps, graphs, posters), storymaps and multimedia content. Go to 'Platforms' in the site menu for high quality geospatial datasets at various scales. Publications can be found under 'Resources'.
- SDG Academy LibraryA searchable catalog of educational videos. SDG Academy creates and curates 50+ free massive open online courses as well as resources and guidance on education for the SDGs. Explore by goal, subject or lecturer.
- Sustainable Development Goals Online
A curated library of digital content from Taylor and Francis supporting the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, including relevant book chapters and journal articles covering all 17 SDGs.
- Taylor & Francis environment and sustainability books
Covering all areas of sustainability and the environment, this portfolio of books and journals contains the latest research on climate change, natural resources, sustainable energy, and business and development.
Economic Journals
Economic Books
Oecd Sustainable Development Studies Institutionalising Sustainable Development by
Achieving sustainable development depends on good governance practices, particularly the effective implementation of national sustainable development strategies which integrate government decision-making in the economic, environmental and social spheres. This volume contains recommendations for the true "institutionalisation" of sustainable development. Institutionalisation will embed the concept in government operations for the long-term and will reduce the vulnerability of sustainable development aims to shorter-term political objectives.
ISBN: 9264018875Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Economic Growth and Environmental Sustainability by
A key area of public policy in the last twenty years is the question of how, and how much, to protect vthe environment. At the heart of this has been the heated debate over the nature of the relationship between economic growth and environmental sustainability. Is environemental sustainability economic growth or `green growth', a contradiction in terms? Avoiding the confusion that often surrounds these issues, Ekins provides rigorous expositions of the concept of sustainability, integrated environmental and economic accounting, the Environmental Kuznets Curve, the economics of climate change and environmental taxation. Individual chapters are organised as self-contained, state-of-the-art expositions of the core issues of environmental economics, with extensive cross-referencing from one chapter to another, in order to guide the student or policy-maker through these complex problems. Paul Ekins breaks new ground in defining the conditions of compatibility between economic growth and environmental sustainability, and provides measures and criteria by which the environmental sustainability of economic growth, as it occurs in the real world, may be judged. It is argued that `green growth' is not only theoretically possible but economically achievable and the authors show what environmental and economic policies are required to achieve this. Economic Growth and Environmental Sustainability will be welcolmed by students of and researchers in environmental economics and environmental studies, as well as all interested policy-makers.
ISBN: 0203011759Publication Date: 2002-01-04
Agroecological Economics by
Agroecology is the science of applying ecological concepts and principles to the design, development, and management of sustainable agricultural systems. Agroecological economics, a subsection of agricultural economics, evaluates the ecological consequences of agricultural methods on the economic scale. Agroecological economics considers green engineering as a means of measurement. As the environmental movement unfolds, the importance of biodiversity and long-term sustainability are indisputable. Progress depends on determining the economic viability of terrestrial agroecosystems. What is lacking is the analysis needed to bring biodiverse and sustainable systems to fruition. Agroecological Economics analyzes the current topics that must be addressed in order to provide sustainable agricultural systems. It explains the economics of land-use ecology with emphasis on changing over from a conventional model of agriculture to environmentally- and ecologically-friendly models and the financial incentives that are important to these practices. * Analyzes agricultural solutions with economic testing * Includes a complete analysis of recent biodiversity-based research with valuable new economic methodologies * Provides various applications to mitigate the problems which have economic and ecological effects on agroecosystems * Offers applications of ecologically-sound land-use practices in production and manufacturing
ISBN: 9780080557823Publication Date: 2010-07-28
Green Economy Reader by
State of the art in sustainability thinking, inspired by interdisciplinary ideas of ecological economics. This book is focusing on sustainability pathways, new economic theory, democracy and institutions, multidimensional assessment of sustainability, macroeconomic modelling and policies, climate change and renewable energy, resource flows and circular economy, regenerative cities, environmental conflicts and values. It will be helpful for MSc and PhD students in Economics, Management, Environmental Change, Ecological Economics, Development Economics, Sustainability and practitioners in business, international and nongovernmental organizations. Rich, diverse and thought provoking collection of top level contributions, it will help to facilitate the transition towards sustainability and educational reform. A fabulous composition of papers by the authors who really count! Ernst von Weizsäcker, The Club of Rome The authors present a refreshing perspective on the possibilities of human progress in harmony with nature, without the need for economic growth to secure long term human welfare and wise use of nature's services. Extremely relevant. Peter May, Past President, International Society for Ecological Economics and Professor, UFRRJ, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil The book goes well beyond the Green Economy, offering arguments and blueprints for a complete makeover of the current economic system. With multi- and interdisciplinary contributions ranging from moderately to fundamentally critical of current economics, it raises fundamental questions of value and power, draws on a wide range of theories, opens the eyes for the historical processes that brought about the current crises and demonstrates the value of ecological, but also classical economic thinking to their solution. If better politics require better theories, this is a must read for academics and decision makers in the time of climate crisis. Joachim Spangenberg, Sustainable Europe Research Institute, SERI Germany e.V.
ISBN: 9783319389196Publication Date: 2016-10-08
Handbook of Environmental Economics by
The Handbook of Environmental Economics focuses on the economics of environmental externalities and environmental public goods. Volume I examines environmental degradation and policy responses from a microeconomic, institutional standpoint. Its perspective is dynamic, including a consideration of the dynamics of natural systems, and global, with attention paid to issues in both rich and poor nations. In addition to chapters on well-established topics such as the theory and practice of pollution regulation, it includes chapters on new areas of environmental economics research related to common property management regimes; population and poverty; mechanism design; political economy of regulation; experimental evaluations of policy instruments; and technological change.
ISBN: 9780080495095Publication Date: 2003-05-20
