Economic growth and energy provision are among the main goals for the development of any modern society. Unfortunately, they often come at a cost of environmental degradation. According to the first pillar of sustainability, development plans are formed in such ways to ensure that humans consume natural resources at a rate that allows them to be replenished. Mechanisms should be in place that prevent pollution of air, water and land. The environment should be managed so that ecological integrity is maintained at all times.
Sustainability Databases
- Global Resource Information DatabaseGRID-Geneva is part of the Science Division of the UN Environment Programme's global group of environmental information centres, known as the Global Resource Information Database (GRID) network. Find geospatial datasets under Platforms and publications under Resources.
- SDG Academy LibraryThe SDG Academy creates and curates free massive open online courses and educational materials on sustainable development and the Sustainable Development Goals. Explore by goal, subject or lecturer and find video content from educators across the globe.
- Sustainable Development Goals OnlineSDG Online from Taylor & Francis is a multimedia collection of academic resources, made up of thousands of book chapters, journal articles, essays, videos and lesson plans all about sustainability. It will help you research and address the key challenges facing us as global citizens and consider how we can deliver the change we want to throughout our careers and lives.
- Taylor & Francis environment and sustainability booksPublishing across all areas of sustainability and the environment, Taylor and Francis Sustainability books bring the latest research on climate change, natural resources, sustainable energy, and business and development to a global audience of researchers, students, sustainable practitioners and anyone interested in creating a sustainable future for all.
Environmental Journals
Environmental Books
The Sustainability Handbook by
The Sustainability Handbook covers all the challenges, complexities and benefits of sustainability for businesses, governments and other organizations. It provides a blueprint for how organizations can reach or exceed economic, social and environmental excellence. It offers a host of practical approaches and tools including a model sustainability policy for organizations, summaries of sustainability codes and tips on selecting them, an extensive collection of metrics and a wealth of supplementary reference material. This is the essential reference for every organization in pursuit of sustainability.
ISBN: 1844074951Publication Date: 2007-10-15
Handbook of Sustainable Development by
This timely and important Handbook takes stock of progress made in our understanding of what sustainable development actually is and how it can be achieved. Twenty years on from the publication of the seminal Brundtland Report, it has become clear that formidable challenges confront policy makers who have publicly stated their commitment to the goal of sustainable development. The Handbook of Sustainable Development seeks to provide an account of the considerable progress made in fleshing out these issues. The Handbook brings together original and state-of-the-art contributions from internationally renowned scholars writing from a variety of perspectives and disciplines. These contributions acknowledge that there is no unified theory of sustainable development and reflect the breadth and diversity of the literature to date. Discussion encompasses the fundamentals of sustainable development and intergenerational equity, and covers issues such as: the capital approach, ecological resilience, population growth and safe minimum standards; intra-generational equity; resources, the environment and economic progress; urban and corporate sustainability; green accounting and sustainability indicators.This accessible, comprehensive and multidisciplinary approach to the theory and practice of sustainable development will prove an invaluable reference tool for researchers, students, academics and practitioners with an interest in the field of sustainable development.
ISBN: 9781843765776Publication Date: 2007-06-26
Reduce, Reuse, Recycle by
Answers all of your recycling questions with a complete A-Z listing of everyday household items and how to recycle them. From old cell phones and E-waste to expired medicines and motor oil this little guide shows you where you can send your unwanted items and how you might make a bit of money while you're at it. Also includes great ideas for reducing consumption and your volume of trash--ideal for businesses and consumers alike! What do you do with your old mobile phone? Where can you take your old car batteries? Which foods are compostable? What happens to the stuff you recycle? Reduce, Reuse, Recycle is packed with ideas for cutting your consumption and reducing your rubbish. It's an invaluable guide for anyone who wants to slim their bin and help stop the earth going to waste.
ISBN: 9781903998403Publication Date: 2007-09-05
A Practical Guide to Environmental Impact Assessment by
Impact assessment is a crucial element of the interface between society and the environment. This volume provides a conceptual guide to technical and scientific issues, and covers both physical and social parameters, to permit the evaluation of environmental impacts.
ISBN: 0122415558Publication Date: 1994-06-22
Sustainable Animal Agriculture by
In order to meet increasing global demand for meat and animal by-products increasingly intensive animal production is necessary. Creating a sustainable system in animal agriculture that works in different production environments is a major challenge for animal scientists. This book draws together themes on sustainability that have emerged as the most pressing in recent years. Addressing practical topics such as air quality, manure management, animal feeds, production efficiency, environmental sustainability, biotechnology issues, animal welfare concerns, societal impacts and an analysis of the data used to assess the economic sustainability of farms.
ISBN: 9781780640426Publication Date: 2014-03-14
