Research agriculture at Newcastle
A selection of books, archives and research reserve materials relating to Agriculture at Newcastle University Library.
- Cockle Park Farm : an account of the work of the Cockle Park Experimental Station from 1896-1956 byCall Number: Philip Robinson Library 630.72 PAWPublication Date: 1960Copies also available at Special Collections 20th Century (C20th Coll. 630.72 PAW ) and Special Collections Gilchrist G630.72 PAW
- Newcastle University byCall Number: Philip Robinson Oversize Level 3 (378.42876 NEW ) and other locationsISBN: 9781903942475Publication Date: 2007-03-06Chapter 5
Faculty of Science, Agriculture and Engineering. Agriculture after the war by Robert Shiel - Grass Land: its Management and Improvement byCall Number: Philip Robinson Books Level 4 (633.202 STA )Publication Date: 1927
- Cockle Park Morpeth Jubilee 1896-1946Call Number: University Archives 9/4/4Publication Date: 1946
- Booklet produced for the official opening of Agriculture Building, 28th May 1964Call Number: University Archives 16/7/1Publication Date: 1964
- The Agric Song BookCall Number: University ArchivesThe original Agric Song Book includes three versus of the Cockle Park Song
- Proceedings of the Agricultural Students Association of Armstrong College.Call Number: University Archives 11/1/1Vols. 1-3, 1900-1922
- Journal of King's College/ NewcastleUniversity Agricultural SocietyCall Number: University Archives 11/1/2Vols. 4, 9-17, 19-27
- Palace Leas Experiment ArchiveCall Number: University ArchivesPublication Date: 1897-2013
- Agriculture in the United Kingdom: current developments and future directions (University of Newcastle upon Tyne. Agricultural Adjustment Unit. Bulletin no. 17 byCall Number: University Archives 9/3/1Publication Date: 1972This paper is in two parts:
I. Agriculture in the 1960's
II. British Agriculture in 1980 - Two-Tier pricing for Milk: A Re-examination byCall Number: University ArchivesPublication Date: 1991Principal objections to two-tier pricing have centred on administrative complexities and the ‘transparent’ nature of its cost. However, the credibility of two-tier pricing for milk within the European Community is now enhanced by the existence of a quota scheme and by recent levels of budgetary expenditure. Potential features of two-tier pricing are that farm support can be more readily directed at selected recipients and that lowering of market prices for milk relieves consumers from some of the burden of this support. A major attraction is that the existing quota system allows for an immediate ready-made transition. In this paper, two applications are developed. Both allow varying combinations of quota level and support price, but differ in their impact on producers' incomes. Some degree of national flexibility within the Community is also explored.
DP3/91 Department of Agricultural Economics & Food Marketing University of Newcastle Upon Tyne Discussion Paper. - The study of agriculture or hints for agricultural students byCall Number: 20th C. Coll. 630.7 PAW
- Guide to Experiments byCall Number: University ArchivesPublication Date: 1914-1939Bulletins No. 21-52 1914-1939
Bulletin No 41 is titled
Cockle Park: The Improvement of a Poor Farm by H.C. Pawsons - Progressive Farming: the maintenance of High Production byCall Number: Special Collections Gilchrist (G630.2 PRO )Publication Date: 1949
The publications section of the University Archive is available via online listing.
Please contact lib-specenq@ncl.ac.uk for further details regarding any uncatalogued material.
- Agricultural experiments : five years' work at the Northumberland county demonstration farm byCall Number: Store Mon 19795 )Publication Date: 1902
Mac Cooper: a bibliography by Call Number: 630.92 CRAPublication Date: 2000Mac Cooper became Dean of Agriculture in 1954.
Chapter 8 Newcastle: The Dose of Salts
Chapter 9 Newcastle: One man plays many parts- Always your friend" : a personal appreciation of H. Cecil Pawson, Professor of Agriculture, Universities of Durham and Newcastle upon Tyne, Vice President of the Methodist Conference of Great Britain, 1951-52 byCall Number: Research Reserve General (Store Mon 29258 )Publication Date: 1990?
Faculty of Agriculture centenary lectures by Call Number: 199-?]ISBN: 090369834XPublication Date: 199-?]
The Common Agricultural Policy and Britain by Call Number: Research Reserve 338.10941 COMISBN: 0347010121Publication Date: 1973-01-01'The papers included in this volume were presented at a conference ... organised by the Agricultural Adjustment Unit and held in Newcastle-upon-Tyne from 10 to 13 July 1972- The Improvement of Grassland for the Ministry of Agriculture byCall Number: Research Reserve General (633.202 HAN )Publication Date: 1937
- An agricultural survey of the Northern province: The counties of Durham, Northumberland, Cumberland, Westmorland byCall Number: Research Reserve General (630.9428 HAN )Publication Date: 1936
Excerpts from articles and reports
University Archives University of Newcastle upon Tyne Agricultural Society
Gatt, The Cap Reforms & The Future of British Agriculture by D.R. Harvey, Department of Agricultural Economics and Food Marketing, The University, Newcastle Upon Tyne.
The arguments presented in this paper strongly support the stated intention of the European Commission that farm product prices must be set more competitvely with the world market. Indeed they go further.
University Archives 11/1/2 The Journal of King's College Agricultural Society Volume 15, 1961 page 5
Grazing Systems by Professor M.M. Cooper King's College, University of Durham.
Report of an address to the Society on 9th December, 1960.
Full report Page 5-10
University Archives 11/1/2 University Archives The Journal of King's College Agricultural Society Volume 10, 1954-55 page 27
Plans at Cockle Park by Professor McG. Cooper
Full article pages 27-29
University Archives 11/1/2 The Journal of King's College Agricultural Society Volume 22, 1968 page 27
University Farm Enterprises
The Nafferton Dairy Herd by J.N. Merridew Farm Director
Full article pages 34-36
University Archives 11/1/2 The Journal of King's College Agricultural Society Volume 16, 1962 page 18
On the 29th October, 1961 , "The Common Market and British Agriculture" papers I and II were presented to the Society. Dr Guest spoke as a representative of Industry while Mr Winegarten represented the views of an agriculturist.
The Common Market and British Agriculture, I by W. L. Guest, Sales Control Division, Imperial Chemical Industries.
Full article pages 18-20.
University Archives 11/1/2 The Journal of King's College Agricultural Society Volume 16, 1962 page 20
On the 29th October, 1961 , "The Common Market and British Agriculture" papers I and 2 were presented to the Society. Dr Guest spoke as a representative of Industry while Mr Winegarten represented the views of an agriculturist.
The Common Market and British Agriculture, II
by A Winegarten, Chief Economist, National Farmers Union.
Full article pages 20-23
The Journal of Newcastle Upon Tyne Agricultural Society Vol 32 (2009) page 7
Cockle Park Farm- the future is green
Full article pages 7-9