You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
- ACLS Humanities ebook Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text of over 5,400 ebooks in the humanities, with new titles added regularly.
- BAR Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowThis online collection, from one of the world’s largest academic archaeology publishers, gives full text access to over 3,100 titles published from 1974 to date. It includes both BAR’s British and international series, and covers archaeological research, excavation reports and other important series from around the world.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowSearch over 360 volumes of this major series, covering worldwide history from ancient to modern, literature, language, music, and more. All volumes are also individually listed on Library Search. NEW! We have just added 11 more volumes, covering Ireland, Communism, modernism and slavery.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window54 volumes of this scholarly collection, with titles in archaeology, linguistics and literature.
- Oxford Scholarship Online: Classical Studies This link opens in a new window115 Classical Studies ebooks, published by Oxford University Press. All titles are individually catalogued on Library Search, or you can browse them as a whole collection on the OSO site.
- Pluto Press Collections (Academic Library ebooks) This link opens in a new windowOver 650 ebooks in politics, media, and cultural studies
- Classical Latin TextsThis website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowContains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Jacoby Online This link opens in a new windowMajor source for the study of ancient Greek historians. Comprises five works, based on the original multi-volume work by Felix Jacoby: 'Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker'.
- Loeb Classical Library Online This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Loeb Classical Library. Over 520 volumes of Latin and Greek poetry, drama, oratory and more, together with English translations.
- Perseus Digital LibraryDigital library project, under development since 1987, which covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, and has expanded to cover other humanities areas.
- Thesaurus Linguae GraecaeContains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Related topics in Library Help
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
