Skip to main content

Newcastle University

University Library

Subject support guide

Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.

Library Search

Archaeology

Your subject-specific guide to library resources.

Journals and Databases banner image

We have thousands of journals and databases selected by your Schools to support teaching and research. There are so many, that it can be difficult to know which ones are the best to use, so we have grouped them together for you! Use the 'everything' search in Library Search to find articles, conference papers, journals and more, or Browzine to browse the e-journal titles in your subject.
Key Databases and eJournal Collections
 

Below is a list of key databases and eJournal collections in your subject. They will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. If we have access to this item on another one of our subscriptions you will see the 'find@newcastle' option next to the item. Follow this link to find out if we have the full text available.

All databases should have a help section with tips and tricks on how to get the best out of using them, so do make yourself familiar with them. You also may find the following helpful:


Please note, the Classical Studies bibliography, L'Année philologique, changed suppliers in January 2018, and will be provided by Brepols from now on. 

The new version contains the same content, and has similar search options to the old version. One major enhancement is that you should now be able to link directly to the full text of online journal articles (where we have access to them): look for 'External links' at the bottom of any record you find.

When searching for modern authors, simply type the author's name in the 'author' box. When searching for ancient authors (e.g. Ovid) or ancient texts, type the name in the 'ancient author and text' box. You can then select the correct form of the author or text name from the drop-down list which appears on screen.

Choose advanced search for the full range of search options, and click the question mark symbol next to any search field to get more search tips.

Google Scholar Search

Try Google Scholar for finding scholarly literature on the internet. Google Scholar is particularly good at finding Open Access (freely accessible) scholarly information but a great deal of important literature is still only available through the databases and electronic journals to which the Library subscribes. You should, therefore, use Google Scholar in addition to (and not instead of) our databases and electronic journals.

 

Library Search journals big button

Inter Library Loan big button