You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
- Business Expert PressBusiness Expert Press eBooks collection cover a variety of topics mainly for Postgraduate students, our subscription covers packages from 2010-2021
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central delivers a breadth and depth of e-books from scholarly sources, including university presses and other top publishers.
- OECD iLibrary Economics This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary Economics brings together in a single subscription all the core economic data and analysis available from the OECD, in PDF format as well as in interactive database format when available.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Business & Management This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online in Business and Management brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Economics and Finance This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online in Economics and Finance brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink eBooks cover all subjects. In the SpringerLink search bar type 'Lecture Notes in' to discover complete collections for your subject area.
- Sustainable development goals onlineA variety of content from Taylor and Francis from books, journals and other sources which match onto the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. Includes more than 12,000 of the most important and relevant book chapters and journal articles, published under the Routledge and CRC Press imprints, in an online library covering all 17 SDGs.
- Taylor & Francis environment and sustainability booksPublishing across all areas of sustainability and the environment, Taylor and Francis Sustainability books bring the latest research on climate change, natural resources, sustainable energy, and business and development to a global audience of researchers, students, sustainable practitioners and anyone interested in creating a sustainable future for all.
Related topics in Library Help
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
