When looking for academic journal articles you can use the 'everything' search in Library Search or search directly in the databases below, which we’ve selected as being most relevant to your subject area.
Databases are the best place to find academic journal articles as they offer advanced search tools, metric data, and export options for referencing. These databases also often provide access to information types such as conference papers, book chapters, review articles, trade magazines, and more. BrowZine can also be used to explore e-journal titles in your subject.
While most of our collection is now available digitally, some titles may only be accessible in print. You can find these journal titles using an ‘everything except articles’ search in Library Search.
You’ll also find links to essential reading for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas.
Key Databases and E-journal Collections
Databases will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. Where full text is not available, look for the
link and follow this to see if we have the full text available via Library Search.
Subject databases
Subject databases are tailored to particular subject areas. They tend to use precise terminology relating to the subject area, making searches more accurate, and can include subject specific tools and features.
- Business Source UltimateBusiness Source Ultimate is a full text database providing peer reviewed journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. It includes company profiles, business cases, SWOT analyses and industry and market reports.
- Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed case studies and teaching notes covering a variety of business related subjects. The case studies offer practical insights into “real world” situations giving students a chance to discuss the business problems and enhance their critical thinking. Focuses on decision-making and managerial development in emerging market regions of Asia, Latin America, Africa, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East.
- Emerald Management Ejournals This link opens in a new window
Comprises of 150 marketing and management titles published by Emerald plus a further 300 of the world's best management and business journals taken from Emerald Management Reviews. Covers topics such as international business, human resource management and organisational management.
- FAME This link opens in a new windowFAME provides company accounts, activities and ownership information for 1.9 million UK and Irish companies.
- Fortune magazine archive
An extensive cover-to-cover collection of the long-running business magazine dating from its very first issue in February 1930 through December 2000. Fortune Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.
- Mintel Marketing Intelligence This link opens in a new window
As a globally recognised market analyst, Mintel produces hundreds of reports into UK-specific consumer markets every year. Our subscription provides access to Reports (in-depth analysis of sectors and the most useful resource in Mintel), Insights (short analysis of topics), and News (short bits of news about brands or sectors). We do not subscribe to all the Reports on Mintel, currently we have access to: Automotive, Beauty and personal care, Clothing and footwear, Drink, Food, Health and Wellbeing, Home retailing, Household care, Media, Retail, and Technology.
- Nexis Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new windowNexis allows you to search across international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines as well as access to company information.
- Orbis Asia Pacific This link opens in a new windowOrbis Asia Pacific provides company accounts, activities and ownership information for the largest companies across the Asia-Pacific.
- Orbis Europe This link opens in a new windowOrbis Europe provides company accounts, activities and ownership information for 7 million companies throughout Europe.
- Passport (Euromonitor International) This link opens in a new windowAn online business information system providing business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries
- SAGE Business CasesThis platform provides a digital collection of business case studies tailored for academic use, covering a wide range of topics and industries with a focus on global brands and companies. Users can browse by subject area and filter results to access content available through Newcastle University.
- SAGE Business SkillsDevelop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights. Skills covered include data analysis, entrepreneurship, leadership, organisational communication and professionalism.
- SAGE Video: Business and Management.Extensive video collection featuring in-depth interviews with experts from across the globe on topics such as innovation management, corporate social responsibility and social media marketing.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a statistics and market research database that gives you access to millions of data sets. It includes consumer trends and forecasting for over 400 industries.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect gives access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
- Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
An online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. Containing more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries:
- Mergent company reports: Historical Annual Reports (1844); Mergent/Moody's® Corporate Manuals (1918); Historical Industry Report Collection (2003); Patent Archives
- Mergent bond reports: Mergent/Moody's Muni & Government Manuals (1918); Bond Record (2004)
- Mergent partner reports with Dun & Bradstreet®: Million Dollar Directory (MDDI) (1959); Key Business Ratios Print Archive (1979); The Hoover's™ Historical Collection of Handbooks (1995); Country Insight Reports (2003); First Research® Archives (2003)
Multidisciplinary databases
Much like Library Search, multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of topics and are a great place to scope your search, or to use if your topic covers more than one subject area.
- CNKI China Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
Searchable database providing full-text access to academic journal articles in Social Sciences and Humanities subject areas from China and beyond. Our subscription covers topics: Literature, History, Philosophy (F), Economics, Politics, Law (G), Education, Social Sciences (H) and Economics/Management (J).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers full access to scholarly journals, e-books, thematic collections, primary sources, and images (Artstor) across many subject areas.
- ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more. You can search across the whole collection or choose a specific database to retrieve information. Use the thesauri within the databases to identify alternative keywords.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAs a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource, this database indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications. It supports cited reference searching to explore the literature in depth, along with tools for citation tracking, author and affiliation searches, visual analysis of results, journal analysis, and author identification for those interested in publishing.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database, which indexes scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research. Use citation reports to see citation activity and geographical trends and the ‘analyse results’ tool to identify trends and publication patterns.
- SAGE Research MethodsThis platform provides a wealth of materials to help support research methodology. It includes chapters, articles, videos and case studies. There are other tools e.g. The Methods Map and the Project Planner Tool to help you plan your research effectively.
- SAGE Research Methods CasesA collection of case studies showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. They explain why the researchers chose the methods they did, how they overcame problems in their research and what they might have done differently with hindsight. Cases are peer-reviewed and cover a range of disciplines including social sciences, science, arts, technology and medicine.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
