We have thousands of journals and databases to support you in developing your academic practice. In fact, there are so many, that it can be difficult to know which ones are the best to use, so we have grouped some of the key resources together for you! Use the 'everything' search in Library Search to find articles, conference papers, journals and more, or if you want to browse e-journal titles in a more informal way, why not check out Browzine below? If you want to look specifically at journals and databases for your own discipline, then go to your own subject specific guide.
Key Databases and eJournal Collections
Below is a list of key recommended e-journals for learning and teaching. You could either access these through Library Search or bookmark them on BrowZine
Below is a list of key education and psychological databases and eJournal collections. They will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. If we have access to this item on another one of our subscriptions you will see the 'find@newcastle' option next to the item. Follow this link to find out if we have the full text available.
- British Education Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBritish education Index (BEI) indexes education journals from 1975 onwards.
- Digital Education Resource Archive (dera)The Institute of Education Digital Education (University of London) Resource Archive (DERA) is a digital archive of all documents published electronically by government and related bodies in the area of education.
- Education Administration AbstractsCovers educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research. From sources within the discipline, such as Educational Administration Quarterly, Review of Higher Education, Journal of Educational Administration
- Education Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers periodicals, books and yearbooks for a wide range of subject areas including adult education, comparative education, government funding, higher education, school administration, teacher evaluation
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe world's most widely used index to educational-related literature, established in 1966. Over one million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books.
- ERIC (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe world's most widely used index to educational-related literature, established in 1966. Over one million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books.
- JSTOR supportHelp and support on how to search on JSTOR
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowProviding full text access to nearly 100 titles in the area of Psychology from the American Psychological Association with coverage from as early as 1894.
- ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more. You can search across the whole collection or choose a specific database to retrieve information. Use the thesauri within the databases to identify alternative keywords.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCovers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, sociology and linguistics.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large, multidisciplinary database, which indexes peer reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and trade publications. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research and set up citation alerts. Other useful tools include citation overviews, author and affiliation searching, visual analysis of search results and a journal analyser and author identifier tools (if you are interested in publishing work).
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database, which indexes scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research. Use citation reports to see citation activity and geographical trends and the ‘analyse results’ tool to identify trends and publication patterns.
All databases should have a help section with tips and tricks on how to get the best out of using them, so do make yourself familiar with them. You also may find the following helpful:
- EBSCO Host supportVideo Tutorials of help and support.
- OVID supportHelp and support on how to use OVID medline, PsychInfo and Embase databases.
- ProQuest supportVideo tutorials of help and support. Useful when learning how to use 'ERIC' via ProQuest
- Scopus supportHelp and support on how to access and use Scopus.
- Web of Science helpVideo tutorials and guide books.
Try Google Scholar for finding scholarly literature on the internet. Google Scholar is particularly good at finding Open Access (freely accessible) scholarly information but a great deal of important literature is still only available through the databases and electronic journals to which the Library subscribes. You should, therefore, use Google Scholar in addition to (and not instead of) our databases and electronic journals.
