Campbell Systematic Reviews is the peer-reviewed online monograph series of systematic reviews prepared under the editorial control of the Campbell Collaboration. Campbell systematic reviews follow structured guidelines and standards for summarizing the international research evidence on the effects of interventions in crime and justice, education, international development, and social welfare.

The Cochrane Library is a database of systematic reviews generated by a global independent network of health practitioners, researchers and others.It aims to promote evidence-informed health decision-making by producing high-quality, relevant, accessible systematic reviews and other synthesised research evidence.

Centre for Evidence Based Dentistry Database of Systematic Reviews is a database of reviews clinically relevant to healthcare in dental settings and is categorized by clinical topic . The database currently has over 2000 systematic reviews and is updated monthly.

Collaboration for Environmental Evidence is an open community of scientists and managers working towards a sustainable global environment and the conservation of biodiversity. The collaboration seeks to synthesise evidence on issues of greatest concern to environmental policy and practice.

DIFD Systematic Reviews in International Development is a database collaboration between the Department for International Development and the International Initiative for Impact Evaluation (3ie) for reviews on development issues.

EPPI Centre is an Institute of Education database of systematic reviews in education, health and social policy.

If you know of other databases, please let us know at medliaison@ncl.ac.uk

Methodologies

There are a variety of sources which can give you guidance on the methodologies used for writing a systematic review:

The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions is the official document that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions.

DFID/3ie  use a check list for the quality appraisal of systematic reviews in this database. This is useful in seeing what elements you need to include.

The Collaboration for Environmental Evidence provide detailed guidelines on planning, carrying out and submitting an environmental systematic review.

SCIE (Social Care Institute for Excellence)  has worked with other organisations to develop a way of undertaking systematic reviews that takes account of a range of different types and quality of knowledge in social care. They have produced a set of useful guidelines.

Reporting results

These resources will help you to report your findings and research methods:

PRISMA have produced a statement which focuses on ways in which authors can ensure the transparent and complete reporting of systematic reviews and meta-analyses.

The EQUATOR Network (Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research) provides a series of checklists and a tool kit for reporting guidelines.

The Effect of Language Comprehension Training on Standardized Tests: A Systematic Review [full text]

Effectiveness of innovation grants to smallholder agricultural producers: an explorative systematic review [full text]

 Evaluating the comparative biological effectiveness of fully and partially protected marine areas [full text]

The Impact of Land Property Rights Interventions on Investment and Agricultural Productivity in Developing Countries: a Systematic Review [full text]

Oxcarbazepine versus phenytoin monotherapy for epilepsy [full text]