When looking for academic journal articles you can use the 'everything' search in Library Search or search directly in the databases below, which we’ve selected as being most relevant to your subject area.
Databases are the best place to find academic journal articles as they offer advanced search tools, metric data, and export options for referencing. These databases also often provide access to information types such as conference papers, book chapters, review articles, trade magazines, and more. BrowZine can also be used to explore e-journal titles in your subject.
While most of our collection is now available digitally, some titles may only be accessible in print. You can find these journal titles using an ‘everything except articles’ search in Library Search.
You’ll also find links to essential reading for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas.
Key Databases and E-journal Collections
Databases will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. Where full text is not available, look for the
link and follow this to see if we have the full text available via Library Search.
Subject databases
Subject databases are tailored to particular subject areas. They tend to use precise terminology relating to the subject area, making searches more accurate, and can include subject specific tools and features.
- American Chemical Society Publications Journals This link opens in a new window
Online access to journals published by the American Chemical Society.
- Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive engineering database that includes journals and conference materials from as early as 1884. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. Numeric data is indexed so results can be filtered within specific data parameters.
- ENDS Report This link opens in a new window
An online news source covering key environmental topics. It offers commentary and analysis on environmental policy and legislation, exploring the implications for business across the carbon, environmental and sustainability agenda.
- IChemE journal archive This link opens in a new windowThe Institution of Chemical Engineers has digitised its journal archive covering the years 1923 to 1996. This archive, available in PDF format, is fully searchable by volume, author, and keyword across the full text of each article. The archive from 1997 onward is included with current online subscriptions. It covers a range of topics, including biotechnology, digitisation, environmental control, hazard management, fluid mechanics, formulation and particle processing, materials and catalysis, among others.
- IEEExplore This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive access to high-quality technical literature, journal articles, conference papers, and standards from IEEE and IET, covering subjects such as electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
- Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThis e-book collection is valuable across various engineering fields, including biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology, and chemistry. The platform also includes technical reference books, interactive graphs and tables, and data on material and substance properties. Additionally, the Data Search tool allows users to create queries focused on different materials or substances.
- Physical Sciences Data-science ServiceNational Research Facility which brings together tools and resources for UK researchers in physical sciences.
- Policy Commons: Global Think TanksGlobal Think Tanks is a collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. It provides in-depth search and access to some 5 million reports from over 25,000 organisations.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a powerful chemistry data-searching tool designed to retrieve chemical reactions, substances and their properties, patent data and more. Reaxys can be searched in a number of ways, including by chemical structure, formula, and physical property parameters. NOTE: A personal account is needed to use this database, click on 'Activate personalization' or 'Not registered?' to set up an account. The registration process only needs to be completed once.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of world-leading journals that span the core chemical sciences and related fields.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
A chemist-curated database from CAS offering reference, substance and reaction searching with sophisticated analysis tools. Substances can be searched by chemical structure, markush (for Patents), molecular formula, property or substance identifier. Includes MethodsNow (showing every experimental step for ease of replication) and PatentPak (identifying novel chemistry information in a Patent document).
Multidisciplinary databases
Much like Library Search, multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of topics and are a great place to scope your search, or to use if your topic covers more than one subject area.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable database providing full-text access to many Sage titles. We have full-text access to almost all of them from 1999 onwards.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window
A large database of peer-reviewed, full-text scientific, technical and health literature published by Elsevier.
- Aqualine This link opens in a new window
An index of trade, technical and scientific literature on all aspects of water resources including water resources and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, water treatment technologies, wastewater and sewage treatment, and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution.
- Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new windowThis database is particularly useful for architects, civil engineers, structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers, and other professionals in the construction industry. It offers essential industry information and legislation, along with supplementary material related to various sectors. The extensive collection of full-text documents encompasses all aspects of building, engineering, design, and construction in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.
- ProQuest Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database and the Biological Science Database. It provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAs a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource, this database indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications. It supports cited reference searching to explore the literature in depth, along with tools for citation tracking, author and affiliation searches, visual analysis of results, journal analysis, and author identification for those interested in publishing.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database which indexes scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research. Use citation reports to see citation activity and geographical trends and the ‘analyse results’ tool to identify trends and publication patterns.
- TechRxivTechRxiv (pronounced "tech archive") is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in electrical engineering, computer science, and related technology.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
