Every subject has unique and specialist types of information that add rigour and interest to research. Usually, you’ll need to look beyond Library Search for these information types; some are accessed via specialist databases, while others are available online via websites, social media or streaming platforms.
We’ve picked out some key resources for your subject here but you might like to explore our Resource Guides for more resources on different information types.
Technical, material property, standards and data sources
- Chemical, Physical and Materials Data GuideOur Chemical, Physical and Materials Data Guide links to all top resources for finding data for your studies.
- Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThe top database for finding Engineering technical literature and material properties.
- British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new windowNewcastle University has access to British Standards Online which provides access to full-text current British Standards.
- ASTM Compass Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL) This link opens in a new windowA collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
- Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new windowThe Construction Information Service (CIS) is produced jointly with the National Building Specification (NBS) especially for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry. CIS provides fundamental industry information and legislation, as well as additional sector material. The extensive range of full-text documents cover all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland.
- ASCE Proceedings This link opens in a new windowWe have access to 35 journals and the proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Great place to find technical literature and standards.
Chemical structure information
A couple of handy resources to help you with Chemical structures:
SciFinder-n is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the Chemical Abstracts Service databases, searching by chemical structure and formula as well as by topic.
Initial registration should take place on campus. Once registered, access to SciFinder is dependent on IP address, so is accessible on campus and can be used off-campus by entering your campus ID and password when prompted. More information on the registration process is available online (.pdf).
Learn more about SciFinder at CAS Learning Solutions. Here you'll find interactive online tutorials and detailed "How to" guides such as:
- An introduction to SciFinder and how to perform a reference, substance and reaction search
- Need-to-Know videos on practical, real-world applications of SciFinder
You can also use SciFinder on your mobile device.
Averaging only three minutes, these how-to videos will quickly give you the information you need to use SciFinder effectively and advance your research:
Additional short training videos can found here.
- Chemspider This link opens in a new windowChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 39 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowReaxys is a powerful chemistry data-searching tool designed to retrieve chemical reactions, substances and their properties, patent data and more. Reaxys can be searched in a number of ways, including by chemical structure, formula, and physical property parameters. Designed by chemists, Reaxys is a chemical sciences research solution that delivers facts the way chemists need them. NOTE: A personal account is needed to use this database, click on 'Activate personalization' or 'Not registered?' to set up an account. The registration process only needs to be completed once.
The Physical Sciences Data-Science Service (PSDS) is National Research Facility provided by the University of Southampton, and Science and Technology Facilities Council.
The Service brings together tools and resources for UK researchers in physical sciences, including chemistry, crystallography, materials and related fields. It provides access to web-based data services are which are freely accessible for academic users from the UK.
What services are currently available?
- ACD/I-Lab2
- Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) from CCDC
- DETHERM
- SPRESIweb from InfoChem
- Available Chemicals Directory
- Inorganic Crystal Structure Database
- CrystalWorks
-
Learning resources are available here.
-
Keep up to date via their blog.
Chemical prices
Some useful resources for you finding chemical pricing.
Finding chemical pricing information can be challenging. The information is usually expensive and is often only available on subscription. Price availability may also depend on whether you are interested in current or historical prices, and bulk purchasing or small (lab) quantities.
Here are some suggestions to get you started.
- Chemical WeekUntil mid-2010 Chemical Week published a weekly “CW Price Report” giving spot and contract prices for some bulk chemicals.
Chemical Week is available via Business Source Direct. - Chemical Week Buyer's Guide(also published by Chemical Week)
- ICIS Chemical BusinessICIS Chemical Business publishes articles about the production of specific chemicals, and these articles often include costings.
ICIS Chemical Business is available via Business Source Premier. Search for the name of the chemical you are interested in. These articles are usually updated every 1-2 years.
(See below for info from Univ of Texas, helping you locate the right journal issue for the chemical you need). - ICIS Chemical Business (help from U of Texas)The Library at the University of Texas has a list of each chemical profiled by ICIS Chemical Business, which tells you which issue to check.
- Chemical Engineering JournalLook for 'Current Economic Indicators'. Available in print, Research Reserve, PER 660 CHE.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowReaxys is a powerful chemistry data-searching tool designed to retrieve chemical reactions, substances and their properties, patent data and more. Reaxys can be searched in a number of ways, including by chemical structure, formula, and physical property parameters. Designed by chemists, Reaxys is a chemical sciences research solution that delivers facts the way chemists need them. NOTE: A personal account is needed to use this database, click on 'Activate personalization' or 'Not registered?' to set up an account. The registration process only needs to be completed once.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowScifinder-n is a powerful, chemist-curated database from CAS offering reference, substance and reaction searching with sophisticated analysis tools. Substances can be searched by chemical structure, markush (for Patents), molecular formula, property or substance identifier. All alternative substance names are listed alongside CAS Registry numbers and commercial sources. Tools including MethodsNow (showing every experimental step for ease of replication in the lab) and PatentPak (enabling you to get straight to the novel chemistry information in a Patent document). NOTE: When accessing SciFinder-n for the first time, you will be asked to enter your Newcastle University email address and to confirm this via a verification code. Once you have confirmed the verification code, you will be given access to SciFinder-n and you won't need to confirm your identity the next time you access it.
- Accelrys Available Chemicals DirectoryThe Accelrys Available Chemicals Directory (ACD) is a database of commercially available chemicals that can be searched by structure. Pricing and supplier information is provided for 3.2 million unique chemicals from over 800 suppliers.
- Chemical Economics Handbook (CEH)In publication for over 60 years, CEH provides five-year outlooks and extensive market data on over 300 industrial chemicals.
- ICIS Chemical Price ReportsWe don't have access to the full reports, but you may find some useful information in the samples and overviews.
- ICIS Indicative Chemical PricesPrices and reports providing independent, objective and trusted intelligence for the petrochemical, energy and fertilizer markets.
- International Energy AgencyIncludes 'World Energy Outlook' and 'Key World Energy Statistics'.
- MatmatchA materials search platform that connects engineers and material suppliers through the most comprehensive materials database in the world.
- Sigma AldrichIncludes some current pricing information.
- UK Government StatisticsFind reports such as Energy Trends, Industrial Energy Price Indices
- UK National StatisticsBrowse to the Business and Energy section to find Quarterly Energy Prices, Weekly Fuel Prices, etc.
Resource Guides
Explore the different types of information available at the Library.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
