LibGuides: Data and statistics: Databases, Tools and Portals

British Geological Survey (BGS)
A data-rich organisation encompassing environmental monitoring, digital databases, physical collections, records and archives.
Climate Research Unit (CRU)
A range of climate data from the CRU at the University of East Anglia.

Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Compendex® in Engineering Village is an interdisciplinary engineering database with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. Numeric data is indexed so results can be filtered within specific data parameters.

DEFRA - Statistics
The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA) publish national and official statistics relating to the environment, rural communities, food, farming and biosecurity.
Environment Agency
Publish news, research and statistics relating to environmental improvements and protections.
Eurostat
Statistics and data from the Statistical Office of the EU to enable European-wide comparison between countries and regions.
EU Science Hub
Brings together scientific knowledge and research from across Europe. Includes access to scientific tools and databases.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - Statistics
Food and Agriculture statistics including information on fisheries and aquaculture, water resources and agricultural water management, plant genetic resources and domestic animal diversity.

Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
As well as all aspects of engineering, Knovel is useful for biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology and chemistry. Subjects covered include technical reference books. There are Interactive graphs and tables,material and substance properties data and interactive equations. The Data Search tool can be used to build queries around different materials or substances.

MammalWeb
A "citizen science" platform to collate, validate and curate camera trap data to inform about the distribution and ecology of mammals.
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Technology, measurement and standards provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology
Nasa Data portal
A continually growing catalog of publicly available NASA Datasets, APIs, Visualizations, and More.
NASA Earth Observatory
Shares over 15,000 images, showing the latest satellite imagery, unique visuals, global maps, and simple data visualizations of our planet.
NBN Atlas
The NBN Atlas combines multiple sources of information about UK species and habitats, and provides the ability to interrogate, combine, and analyse these data sets.
NOAA Coral Reef Watch (CRW)
NOAA Coral Reef Watch (CRW) has been using remote sensing, modeled, and in situ data to operate a decision support system (DSS) to help resource managers (our target audience), researchers, decision makers, and other stakeholders around the world prepare for and respond to coral reef ecosystem stressors, predominantly resulting from climate change and warming of the Earth's oceans.

Statista This link opens in a new window
An extensive statistics platform covering over 1.5 million data sets (and adding an additional 500 each day) with revenue forecasts from 2015 to 2027 on over 400 industries. Data is collected from over 22,500 sources covering over 75,000 different topics.

UNEP Environmental Data Explorer
An online database holding more than 500 different variables, including national, subregional, regional and global statistics, and geospatial data sets (maps). It covers themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP.
WolframAlpha
A unique engine for computing answers, analysis and reports using expert-level knowledge and algorithms.

Global Resource Information Database
GRID-Geneva is part of the Science Division of the UN Environment Programme's global group of environmental information centres, known as the Global Resource Information Database (GRID) network. Find geospatial datasets under Platforms and publications under Resources.

Subject support guide