Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newcastle University

University Library

Subject support guide

Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.

Library Search

Law in Literature

A guide to complement the Law in Literature collection housed in the Law Library

An image of the Law in Literature logo.

Welcome to the Law in Literature Collection
 

Law in Literature at Newcastle University is a collection of novels, short stories, graphic novels, poetry, films, plays that all relate to Law.

The collection was built in collaboration with Law School staff and students to help encourage reading for pleasure, broaden literary awareness, and highlight interdisciplinary study. You will find a diverse range of voices and stories within this collection, and a range of themes from human rights to A.I., crime to legal ethics, and more...

"You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view - until you climb into his skin and walk around in it." - Atticus Finch in Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird.

If you would like to recommend a book or film, or would like to suggest a "Law School Pick", please get in touch.

Explore the Collection
 

Browse the Collection:

The Law in Literature collection can be found in the Law Library's Reference Room.

Search the Collection:

Take a look at our collection on Library Search.

Law School Picks
 

book coverThe Women of Lockerbie, Deborah Baley Brevoort

When we read cases, it can be easy to separate ourselves from the traumatic and emotional aspects of these events. This is especially true in public international law, where cases and responses of international institutions are so-often framed around state actions and not people. Deborah Baley Brevoort’s, The Women of Lockerbie is a play (informed by Greek tragedies) set in the aftermath of the Lockerbie bombing in 1988, and it tells a story of the women in Lockerbie and the families of the victims. It raises questions about who we hear from in international law, who international is for, and who is still being ignored.

- Dr Ruth Houghton, Newcastle Law School

 

book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover