We have thousands of journals and databases selected by your Schools to support teaching and research. There are so many, that it can be difficult to know which ones are the best to use, so we have grouped them together for you! Use the 'everything' search in Library Search to find articles, conference papers, journals and more, or Browzine to browse the e-journal titles in your subject.
Key Databases and eJournal Collections
Bibliographic databases give you an overview of the literature in a subject area. They provide an index to journal articles and conference papers from a wide range of publishers. Many of these databases provide an abstract of a paper, but NOT ALWAYS the full text. Key databases for Marine Science include:
- Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex® in Engineering Village is an interdisciplinary engineering database with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. Numeric data is indexed so results can be filtered within specific data parameters.
- EcoCyc This link opens in a new windowEcoCyc is a scientific database for the bacterium Escherichia coli K-12 MG1655. The EcoCyc project performs literature-based curation of the entire genome, and of transcriptional regulation, transporters, and metabolic pathways.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new windowIs a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. Approximately 375,000 records are added yearly.
- ENDS Report This link opens in a new windowAnalyses environmental policy and legislation and offers commentary and analysis on the implications for business across the carbon, environmental and sustainability agenda.
- Greenfile This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
- IEEExplore This link opens in a new windowDelivers full text access to high quality technical literature (journal articles, conference papers and standards) from the IEEE and IET.
- Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAs well as all aspects of engineering, Knovel is useful for biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology and chemistry. Subjects covered include technical reference books. There are Interactive graphs and tables,material and substance properties data and interactive equations. The Data Search tool can be used to build queries around different materials or substances.
- MetaCyc Metabolic Pathway Database This link opens in a new windowMetaCyc is a curated database of experimentally elucidated metabolic pathways from all domains of life. It contains pathways involved in both primary and secondary metabolism, as well as associated metabolites, reactions, enzymes, and genes. You can use MetaCyc to predict metabolic pathways in sequenced genomes, support metabolic engineering via enzyme database and conduct metabolomics research via Metabolite database.
- Proquest Natural Science This link opens in a new windowThe Natural Science Collection includes key agriculture, aquatic science, biology, dentistry and nutrition databases, with many full text journals.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large, multidisciplinary database, which indexes peer reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and trade publications. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research and set up citation alerts. Other useful tools include citation overviews, author and affiliation searching, visual analysis of search results and a journal analyser and author identifier tools (if you are interested in publishing work).
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database, which indexes scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research. Use citation reports to see citation activity and geographical trends and the ‘analyse results’ tool to identify trends and publication patterns.
- World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) This link opens in a new windowThe aim of a World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) is to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy. While the highest priority goes to valid names, other names in use are included so that this register can serve as a guide to interpret taxonomic literature.
eJournal collections, whilst not as comprehensive as databases, will normally give you subject focused results and often include the full text. Key Mechanical and Systems Engineering eJournal collections include:
- Business Source UltimateBusiness Source Ultimate is a full text database providing peer reviewed journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. It includes company profiles, business cases, SWOT analyses and industry and market reports.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect provides full text-access to journal articles published by Elsevier.
- IEEExplore This link opens in a new windowDelivers full text access to high quality technical literature (journal articles, conference papers and standards) from the IEEE and IET.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable database providing full-text access to over 450 Sage titles. We have full-text access to almost all of them from 1999 onwards.
- bioRxiv This link opens in a new windowbioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is an open access online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
All databases should have a help section with tips and tricks on how to get the best out of using them, so do make yourself familiar with them. You also may find the following helpful:
- Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) LibGuideA guide for how to get started, search and personalise Engineering Village.
- IEEE Video TutorialsShort videos providing tips and techniques to help with your research.
- Knovel LibGuideResources and tools to get started with—and the get the most out of—Knovel.
- ScienceDirect LibGuideHelp and support on how to access and use Science direct
- SciFinder-n help videosShort videos of training tips from CAS products.
- SciFinder-n training materials
These on-demand SciFinder-n training resources are short, targeted materials, organized by search type. - Scopus LibGuideHelp and support on how to access and use Scopus.
- Web of Science helpVideo tutorials and guides.
- Web of Science workshop slides, Nov 2019PowerPoint presentation slides from Web of Science workshop at Newcastle University, Nov 2019.
Try Google Scholar for finding scholarly literature on the internet. Google Scholar is particularly good at finding Open Access (freely accessible) scholarly information but a great deal of important literature is still only available through the databases and electronic journals to which the Library subscribes. You should, therefore, use Google Scholar in addition to (and not instead of) our databases and electronic journals.
Top selected Journals by Staff
