Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.
eJournal collections, whilst not as comprehensive as databases, will normally give you subject focused results and often include the full text. Key eJournal collections include:
Bibliographic databases give you an overview of the literature in a subject area. They provide an index to journal articles and conference papers from a wide range of publishers. Many of these databases provide an abstract of a paper, but NOT ALWAYS the full text. Key databases include:
All databases should have a help section with tips and tricks on how to get the best out of using them, so do make yourself familiar with them. You also may find the following helpful:
Try Google Scholar for finding scholarly literature on the internet. Google Scholar is particularly good at finding Open Access (freely accessible) scholarly information but a great deal of important literature is still only available through the databases and electronic journals to which the Library subscribes. You should, therefore, use Google Scholar in addition to (and not instead of) our databases and electronic journals.
Did you know we regularly take out trials of new resources (e.g. databases and digitised archives)? Find out what we are currently trialling on our blog. If you are interested in the resource, please explore it and remember to send us feedback!
Telephone: 0191 208 7662
This work is licensed under an Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0).