LibGuides: Mechanical Engineering: Other resources

Every subject has unique and specialist types of information that add rigour and interest to research. Usually, you’ll need to look beyond Library Search for these information types; some are accessed via specialist databases, while others are available online via websites, social media or streaming platforms.

We’ve picked out some key resources for your subject here but you might like to explore our Resource Guides for more resources on different information types.

Technical, material property, standards and data sources

Chemical, Physical and Materials Data Guide
Our Chemical, Physical and Materials Data Guide links to all top resources for finding data for your studies.

Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
The top database for finding Engineering technical literature and material properties.
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Newcastle University has access to British Standards Online which provides access to full-text current British Standards.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information and covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new window
This database is particularly useful for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry. CIS provides fundamental industry information and legislation, as well as additional sector material. The extensive range of full-text documents cover all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland.
ASCE Proceedings This link opens in a new window
We have access to 35 journals and the proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Great place to find technical literature and standards.

Professional organisations, governance and accrediting bodies
Research centres and useful websites

Campaign for Science and Engineering (CaSE)
The UK’s leading independent advocate for science and engineering with a mission focus on skills, funding and policies.
Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE)
A global institution that has been at the heart of the mechanical engineering profession since 1847.
Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)
Inspiring, informing and influencing the global engineering community to engineer a better world.
Siemens
A digital pioneer that focuses on the areas of electrification and automation.

Matmatch
A materials search platform that connects engineers and material suppliers through the most comprehensive materials database in the world.
WolframAlpha
A unique engine for computing answers, analysis and reports using expert-level knowledge and algorithms.

Resources for Risk Incident Case Study/Technical report

Help and resources on how to find information for your Risk Incident Case Study/Technical report.

Library resources to support "Learning from Experience - Major incident review"

LibrarySearch
Use the Everything option in LibrarySearch to find journal articles, newspaper articles and books.
Google Scholar
Good for finding open access scholarly content.
Loss Prevention Bulletin - special issue on Bhopal
Special issue of IChemE Loss Prevention Bulletin on Bhopal 30th anniversary

Library resources to support "Learning from Experience - Major incident review"

Searching each of these ebook collections directly will help you to find sections of individual book titles relating to your topic.

Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
As well as all aspects of engineering, Knovel is useful for biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology and chemistry. Subjects covered include technical reference books. There are Interactive graphs and tables,material and substance properties data and interactive equations. The Data Search tool can be used to build queries around different materials or substances.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink eBooks cover all subjects. In the SpringerLink search bar type 'Lecture Notes in' to discover complete collections for your subject area.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Access e-books and conference proceedings from ASME covering all aspects of mechanical and materials engineering including manufacturing, energy, robotics and emerging technologies. Use the availability filter to show items within our collections.

Library resources to support "Learning from Experience - Major incident review"

CIS (Construction Information Service)
CIS is produced jointly with the National Building Specification (NBS) especially for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry. It provides industry information and legislation. The full-text documents cover all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process.

OHSIS - Occupational Health and Safety Information Service This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and up-to-date online access to industry and government information from key publishing organisations covering legislation, guidance, standards and best practice.

Library resources to support "Learning from Experience - Major incident review"