You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
- ACLS Humanities ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of high quality, full-text, academic e-books covering subjects in humanities and social sciences.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series, with titles covering worldwide history from ancient to modern, as well as history of literature, language, music and theatre, philosophy, politics, and religion.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central delivers a breadth and depth of e-books from scholarly sources, including university presses and other top publishers.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
We have access to more than 1,000 Oxford Handbooks on a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law. To find the Handbooks we have access to, go to Advanced Search and filter by: All content I have access to>Format: Book>Series: Oxford Handbooks.
- Pluto Press Collections (Academic Library ebooks) This link opens in a new windowOver 650 ebooks in politics, media, and cultural studies
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of almost every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Early European Books This link opens in a new window
Draws together a diverse array of printed sources from major European libraries, covering 15th to 17th century.
- ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of books, pamphlets, broadsides and ephemera in every subject published or printed primarily in England, Scotland, Ireland and the United States between 1701 and 1800.
- Oxford Scholarly Editions Online This link opens in a new windowFull text literary works including poetry, prose, drama, essays and correspondence, in the following categories: Romantics Prose; Romantics Poetry; 18th Century Drama; 18th Century Prose. It brings together authoritative editions of major works, so you can explore variations between editions, annotations and extensive notes side by side with the texts.
- Oxford World's Classics This link opens in a new window
Online access to novels, and other writings, from around the world, dating from the Medieval Period through to the 20th century. Each book includes introductions, explanatory notes, chronologies, and bibliographies.
Related topics in Library Help
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
