Every subject has unique and specialist types of information that add rigour and interest to research. Usually, you’ll need to look beyond Library Search for these information types; some are accessed via specialist databases, while others are available online via websites, social media or streaming platforms.
We’ve picked out some key resources for your subject here but you might like to explore our Resource Guides for more resources on different information types.
- BBC Radio: In Our Time (philosophy)Series of BBC radio programmes focusing on philosophers.
- Bentham ProjectWide range of resources from the world centre for Bentham Studies at UCL.
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
- Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new window
An online collection of edited correspondence from the early modern period, linking a diverse range of people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
- Oxford Scholarly Editions Online This link opens in a new windowFull text literary works including poetry, prose, drama, essays and correspondence, in the following categories: Romantics Prose; Romantics Poetry; 18th Century Drama; 18th Century Prose. It brings together authoritative editions of major works, so you can explore variations between editions, annotations and extensive notes side by side with the texts.
- Oxford World's Classics This link opens in a new window
Online access to novels, and other writings, from around the world, dating from the Medieval Period through to the 20th century. Each book includes introductions, explanatory notes, chronologies, and bibliographies.
- Cambridge History of Philosophy30 volumes of this major work online.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Fourth edition of this major reference work online. It contains entries relating to all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyRegularly updated major reference work, compiled by experts.
Resource Guides
Explore the different types of information available at the Library.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
