LibGuides: Government Publications: Statistics

Many statistics and guides to statistics are published by Government departments. The most useful single compilation of statistics is the Annual Abstract of Statistics which covers a wide range of statistics. The Library has a historical collection of official statistics in the Research Reserve. Please note, statistical compilations published as Parliamentary Papers are not included in this section unless the Library has duplicate copies. More recent statistical collations are generally available online.

Statistics

Office for National Statistics This link opens in a new window
Britain's economy, population and society at national and local level.
You can find statistics on the following themes:
• Agriculture and Environment.
• Business and Energy.
• Children, Education and Skills.
• Crime and Justice.
• Economy.
• Government.
• Health and Social Care.
• Labour Market.
• People and Places.
• Population.
• Travel and Transport.

Most Government Department websites include statistical information, for example:

DEFRA - Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.
Department for Education
Department for Health
Higher Education Statistics Agency

On the GOV.UK website you can also filter by statistics and then choose the relevant Department.

UK Data Service This link opens in a new window
The UK Data Service provides access to a large collection of business microdata. This is provided by the Office of National Statistics. This includes:

Annual Respondents Database which provides productivity data for manufacturing, retail, catering, construction, property, motoring and wholesale firms. The dataset contains over a thousand variables.

Annual Survey of hours and earnings (ASHE) is a survey of employees' hours of work and wages collected from companies in GB. This replace the new earnings survey in 2002.

Business Structure Database (BSD) provides information on organisations who have registered for VAT or pay at least one member of staff through the Pay As You Earn (PAYE) tax system, will appear on this register. Therefore it is a very comprehensive source about business organisations in the UK.

UK Innovation Survey collects data from organisations, designed to capture advances in innovative activity. This includes innovations in: production; new goods and services; markets in which businesses operate.

UNBISnet This link opens in a new window
Catalogue of United Nations(UN) documents and publications from 1979 onwards

ESRC Census Programme
UK Data Service Census Support is a value-added service of the UK Data Service which exists to provide access to, and support for, users of the 1971 - 2011 Censuses of Population

Histpop - Online Historical Population Reports This link opens in a new window
The Online Historical Population Reports (OHPR) collection provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937

Related statistical websites:

Subject support guide

Government Publications