Skip to main content
 

Law: Welcome

Library and information resources for staff and students in Newcastle Law School

Welcome

Welcome to the Subject Guide for students and staff in Newcastle Law School  

Click on the tabs above for detailed information on different resources for Law

Contact the Law Library staff if you need any help and advice, we love to hear from you:
lib-law@ncl.ac.uk

Scan the QR code to bookmark this Guide on your mobile device:

Twitter @nclliblaw

Library Update

Newcastle University Library News

Loading

Getting the most out of your Library

Start your research here...

Library Search is your discovery tool to find and access our print and e-books, journals and e-journals, journal articles, law reports, DVDs, government publications and much more!

Want to explore your subject area in more depth? Our Subject Guides, edited by your subject specialist library team, are packed with resources, news and tips.

Got a question? Try Library Help, our searchable knowledge base, or email, telephone, text or Tweet us!

Loading

Resources to explore...

The University Library has invested in a great range of online resources for 2017-18.

Following resource trials and consultation with students and staff we now have access to new digitised archives and e-book collections. These include the Selden Society and the History of Early English Law, Bloomsbury/Hart e-books, Springer Law and Springer Criminology e-books.

Access them via Library Search or the relevant Subject Guide.

The University Library has purchased several new collections from Bloomsbury, including Family and Social Law, Labour and Discrimination Law, Legal Philosophy, Medical Law and Ethics, and Philosophy 2016 & 2017. Each book title is individually catalogued and listed on Library Search or you can browse the titles in each collection here.

The University Library has a hard copy collection of the Lloyd's Law Reports, shelved in the Law Library's Specialist Law Reports room. The collection covers from 1919-2016 with 2017 arriving shortly.

Available via Kluwer Arbitration, titles can also be located and accessed via Library Search. Kluwer Arbitration has updated its interface and you can discover its new features on their new content help page (YouTube videos included).

Loading

Introduction to Law

Are you interested in reading key titles on law to get an overview of the subject as a whole? Here are some suggestions for you.

Contact us

The Law Library Team

We have a number of library staff who support Newcastle Law School and provide specialist support in locating legal materials and government publications, promoting effective legal research and using the OSCOLA citation style.


All members of the team receive and respond to emails
via lib-law@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone number 0191 208 7944

Twitter @nclliblaw

Faculty Liaison Librarian : Lucy Keating

Assistant Librarian : Anne Archer

Senior Library Assistant : Catherine Dale

Library Assistant : Rebecca Knight

Library Assistant : Claire Leighton

Newcastle Law School

Click on the image below to access Newcastle Law School's web pages:

Newcastle Law School

Book a one-to-one library appointment

Need more in-depth guidance with your dissertation, thesis or project literature search? Why not book a one-to-one appointment with our helpful and knowledgeable Library liaison team?

As you'll see from the feedback above, many other students have found these appointments really helpful. Whether you're starting out and don't know where to begin, or further forward with your research, but worried you've missed something...or somewhere in the middle.....we're here to help!

In your consultancy, we'll discuss your information needs in more detail, and suggest useful resources for you within and beyond the Library. We'll explain how to get the best out of them, and give you a personalised search plan to help you get organised.

We can help you in person or online, and we'll do our best to meet you on a day and time which suits you.

Book your appointment now for tailor-made advice.