LibGuides: Law: Law in Europe

The resources provided here mainly provide access to primary sources of law in Europe.

EUR-Lex (Access to European Union law)
EUR-Lex is your online gateway to EU Law. It provides the official and most comprehensive access to EU legal documents. It is available in all of the EU’s 24 official languages and is updated daily.
European Court of Human Rights
Information from the European Court of Human Rights.

Official journal of the European Union (EUR-Lex) This link opens in a new window
The Official Journal of the European Union is the main source of EUR-Lex content.
Westlaw UK (including Westlaw Edge UK) This link opens in a new window
Westlaw UK is one of the leading online legal information services combining up-to-date legal information from the UK, Europe and the United States. It covers cases, legislation, European Union and journals. We also have access to Thomson Reuters Westlaw (Westlaw International), which covers international materials and an extensive collection of law journals.

European Court of Human Rights
Information from the European Court of Human Rights.
HUDOC
HUDOC provides access to the case law of the Grand Chamber, Chamber and Committee judgments and decisions of the European Court of Human Rights. For help with the database, click on 'Help' in top right hand corner of the website.
Case Law (EUR-Lex)
Case-law of the Court of Justice of the European Union.
The Court of Justice of the European Union (CURIA)
Searchable database of European Court of Justice (ECJ) European Court Reports.

Westlaw UK (including Westlaw Edge UK) This link opens in a new window
Westlaw UK is one of the leading online legal information services combining up-to-date legal information from the UK, Europe and the United States. It covers cases, legislation, European Union and journals. We also have access to Thomson Reuters Westlaw (Westlaw International), which covers international materials and an extensive collection of law journals.

Search for EU legislation via the EU tab.

Common Market Law Reports
The Common Market Law Reports is a commercial series that reports the most significant cases from the EU courts, from the EC Commission and from national courts of the member states (e.g. UK cases applying EC law) and the EFTA court.

Official journal of the European Union (EUR-Lex) This link opens in a new window
The Official Journal of the European Union is the main source of EUR-Lex content.

The Official Journal of the European Communities (known as the OJ) is the authoritative source of EU information. The OJ is the official source of EU legislation and carries the full text of the treaties (C series) and secondary legislation (L series).

EU Treaties (EUR-Lex)
EUR-Lex is the official legal database of the EU and contains the founding, amending and accession treaties, as well as some protocols. Go to the treaties page to access the original and consolidated versions of treaties, including the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, Treaty on European Union and EURATOM Treaty.
EU Legislation (EUR-Lex)
In this section, you can find the main types of EU legal acts: regulations, directives, decisions, recommendations and opinions. You can also search for certain other documents issued by EU institutions or bodies (for example communications of the European Commission, reports of the European Court of Auditors).

Common Market Law Review
The Common Market Law Review is the pre-eminent journal dealing with European Union law, and legal issues relating to the European Union. Available on Westlaw UK.
European Law Review
The European Law Review is the principal English-language journal covering the law relating to European integration and the Council of Europe. Available on Westlaw UK.

Access to Law: European Sources
Legal resources selected & annotated by Inner Temple Library relating to European sources.
EPRS (European Parliamentary Research Service)
The European Parliament's in-house research service and think tank.
more...less...
If you'd like to read more, open: https://www.europarl.europa.eu/EPRS/EPRS%20general_EN.pdf
EUROPA - European Union
The official website of the European Union and a good starting point if you are looking for information and services provided by the EU but you don't know your way around our sites. Topics include policy, economy, law and financial reports.
European Sources Online
ESO is a free-access database and information service, which aims to support research and understanding on any matter relating to Europe.
more...less...
The database features primary and official sources, commentary and analyses, summaries and media reports, journal articles, blog posts, monographs and textbooks, among other sources. All gathered in one place for a comprehensive picture on any topic of interest.
United Nations Documents
Available documents include the UN Journal, as well as documents from the General Assembly, Security Council, Human Rights Council, Economic and Social Council and others.

Subject support guide

Law