You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research, as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
- OUP Law TroveOxford University Press Law Trove contains most of the essential, recommended and background reading titles a Newcastle Law School student would find listed in their lecture and seminar handouts and on the Law Library shelves. An essential resource for studying law at Newcastle University.
- Lexis+ UK
A legal database providing full-text access to case law, journal articles, legislation and commentary from a range of courts and jurisdictions, with unique access to Halsbury’s Laws of England and the All England Law Reports. Content includes coverage of the UK, Europe and the USA with additional international content covering the Commonwealth (Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Singapore and New Zealand).
Access the books collection via "Books and Journals" within the "Content" tab on the Lexis+ homepage.
- Westlaw UK (including Westlaw Edge UK) This link opens in a new window
One of the leading online legal information services combining up-to-date legal information from the UK, Europe and the United States. It covers cases, legislation, and the European Union, and provides access to a range of law journals.
Access Westlaw Books via the Westlaw UK homepage.
- Brill books EBA
E-book collection covering a broad range of subject areas.
- Oxford Handbooks: LawThe database provides access to a collection of Law handbooks from the OUP publisher. Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and explains the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and how those debates might evolve. For more information: http://www.oxfordhandbooks.com/page/law
- Oxford Very Short IntroductionsProvide concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
- The Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites and more, with the stated mission of "universal access to all knowledge". This can be a valuable source of historic legal material, for example, Oppenheim's International Law (1905) and MacQueen's Practical Treatise (1842).
- ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of books, pamphlets, broadsides and ephemera in every subject published or printed primarily in England, Scotland, Ireland and the United States between 1701 and 1800.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of almost every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Related topics in Library Help
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
