When looking for academic journal articles you can use the 'everything' search in Library Search or search directly in the databases below, which we’ve selected as being most relevant to your subject area.
Databases are the best place to find academic journal articles as they offer advanced search tools, metric data, and export options for referencing. These databases also often provide access to information types such as conference papers, book chapters, review articles, trade magazines, and more. BrowZine can also be used to explore e-journal titles in your subject.
While most of our collection is now available digitally, some titles may only be accessible in print. You can find these journal titles using an ‘everything except articles’ search in Library Search.
You’ll also find links to essential reading for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas.
Key Databases and E-journal Collections
Databases will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. Where full text is not available, look for the
link and follow this to see if we have the full text available via Library Search.
Subject databases
Subject databases are tailored to particular subject areas. They tend to use precise terminology relating to the subject area, making searches more accurate, and can include subject specific tools and features.
Core SAPL databases
- Architects' Journal Buildings DatabaseA digital database that showcases more than 1,900 exemplar projects, most from the last 20 years but including major projects back to 1900.
- Art and Architecture Archive (parts 1 and 2) This link opens in a new windowA full text, full colour archive of art and architecture magazines from the 19th to 21st centuries. You can search across the whole archive, and the magazines are individually catalogued on Library Search.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowOffers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Covers scholarly and popular periodical literature including publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Articles are included from key publications such as C3 Korea, Domus, Dwell, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as Burlington Magazine and Urban Land.
- Bloomsbury Architecture Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of fully-searchable text and image content on the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. It consists of two separate collections:
The Core Collection
A collection of resources to exploring 5,500 years of the world’s architecture through Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture 21st edition. Browse through an interactive visual timeline of global architectural history; study in-depth buildings pages; or undertake research through Bloomsbury’s library of architecture e-books.Architecture Design & Practice Online
Includes over 200 titles focusing on studio design and professional practice. This fully cross-searchable resource includes introductory texts for students as well as guides for professional architects. It consists of in-depth design guidance and technical detail, up-to-date peer-reviewed content, a wealth of case studies and technical drawings, and over 15,000 images. - British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new windowNewcastle University has access to British Standards Online which provides access to full-text current British Standards.
- Building Types Online This link opens in a new window
Online platform featuring architectural drawings, building plans, photos of building types, case studies and articles. It contains a large international collection of contemporary buildings, eg housing, office buildings, museums, schools, libraries, industrial complexes, including 850 international case studies from the past 30 years, more than 120 thematic articles on specific aspects of building design, approx. 1,800 photos and approx. 3,500 technical plans.
- Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new window
This database is particularly useful for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry. CIS provides fundamental industry information and legislation, as well as additional sector material. The extensive range of full-text documents cover all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland.
- ENDS Report This link opens in a new windowAnalyses environmental policy and legislation and offers commentary and analysis on the implications for business across the carbon, environmental and sustainability agenda.
- Historic England ArchiveArchive focussing on England's archaeology, historic buildings and social history. It includes photographs, plans, drawings, reports and publications from the 1850s to the present day, covering the whole country.
- Specify ITThis platform offers online access to extensive information from building suppliers and manufacturers within the UK construction industry.
Landscape, Planning and Urban Design databases
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull text of every article ever published by ACM: Association for Computing Machinery. Includes resources on urban renewal, urban planning, smart cities.
- CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCAB Abstracts is a comprehensive, international databases covering agriculture, forestry, global health, natural resources management, conservation and land-use, from 1910 to date.
- IEEExplore This link opens in a new window
Delivers full text access to high quality technical literature, journal articles, conference papers and standards, from the IEEE and IET. Covers topics such as electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
- Planning resourcePlanning resource offers a student subscription whereby students from Newcastle University can register for access and they will not have to pay for the service until they graduate.
To register, each student can use the below link:
Planning Resource (only):
http://users.planningresource.co.uk/profession/students - Transport Information Database (TRID)TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from the TRB's TRIS and OECD's ITRD databases.
Multidisciplinary databases
Much like Library Search, multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of topics and are a great place to scope your search, or to use if your topic covers more than one subject area.
- ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers international literature in the social sciences, including architecture, planning, urban design and landscape. Provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large, multidisciplinary database, which indexes peer reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and trade publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database, which indexes scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research. Use citation reports to see citation activity and geographical trends and the ‘analyse results’ tool to identify trends and publication patterns.
- Proquest Agricultural & environmental science database.The Agricultural & Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content along with indexing of global literature across these fields and related disciplines. Peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, magazines, and grey literature as well as working papers, conference papers and proceedings are included. Includes Environment Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Impact Statements: Digests, Health & Safety Science Abstracts, Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A), Pollution Abstracts, Risk Abstracts, Sustainability Science Abstracts, TOXLINE, Toxicology Abstracts, Water Resources Abstracts, and Agricola.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
