Every subject has unique and specialist types of information that add rigour and interest to research. Usually, you’ll need to look beyond Library Search for these information types; some are accessed via specialist databases, while others are available online via websites, social media or streaming platforms.
We’ve picked out some key resources for your subject here but you might like to explore our Resource Guides for more resources on different information types.
- ArchDailyArchDaily provides news and information from around the world on all aspects of Architecture.
Founded in 2008, ArchDaily is one of the biggest and most popular Architecture websites in the world. It is a great source for news and information from around the world on all aspects of Architecture. - archINFORMThis database contains over 74,000 built and unrealised projects from various architects and planners. You can search via architect, town or keyword.
- Architectural Association LecturesFilmed lectures which are publicly available on architecture
- ArchitectUSThis Jisc Open Educational Resource offers an archive of over 800 assets, grouped as appropriate by author or architectural practice.
You can find, view, download and study contemporary UK architecture from an architects or built environment perspective. This includes architectural drawings, plans, sketches, diagrams, measurements and photographs relating to a cross-section of ‘real’ contemporary UK architectural examples. - Cities and Buildings DatabaseThe Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities. You can search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction.
- DezeenPopular and influential architecture, interiors and design mangazine.
- GalinskySearch by Architect or Region/building
- Great Buildings CollectionGateway to a range of information about buildings and architects across the world with photographic images, architectural drawings, integrated maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies and web links.
- Places JournalPlaces Journal is an essential online resource for any professional architects, including architecture, landscape, and urban design.
- Something ConcreteThis archive consists of over 40 projects across the North East region. You can view the projects via the archive either by region – Tyne and Wear, Durham or Teesside or typology. They also have a people section which features influential characters in politics, architecture, engineering and planning.
- 100 Best Urban Planning Blogs and WebsitesThe best Urban Planning blog list curated from thousands of blogs on the web and ranked by traffic, social media followers, domain authority & freshness.
- archINFORMThis database contains over 74,000 built and unrealised projects from various architects and planners. You can search via architect, town or keyword.
- CIS (Construction Information Service)CIS is produced jointly with the National Building Specification (NBS) especially for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry. It provides industry information and legislation. The full-text documents cover all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process.
- Cities and Buildings DatabaseThe Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities. You can search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction.
- Cyburbia | Urban Planning CommunityCyburbia, the Internet's oldest portal site for those interested in cities and the built environment. It contains a directory of Internet resources relevant to planning and urbanism. Cyburbia also includes information about mailing lists and newsgroups, and it hosts a very active bulletin board and image hosting gallery.
- Isurv from RICSCreated by RICS, isurv website help you locate and access environment information.
- National Building Specification JournalThe NBS (National Building Specification) website and journal covers a range of subject linked to civil engineering. Content includes case studies, technical guidance and interviews with leading industry figures.
- Places JournalPlaces Journal is an essential online resource for any professional architects, including architecture, landscape, and urban design.
- Planning JungleFor a good overview and detailed consideration of householder permitted development legislation.
- Planning PortalUK Government website containing a variety of information including building regulations and documentation.
- Planning resourcePlanning resource offers a student subscription whereby students from Newcastle University can register for access and they will not have to pay for the service until they graduate.
To register, each student can use the below link:
Planning Resource (only):
http://users.planningresource.co.uk/profession/students - Something ConcreteThis archive consists of over 40 projects across the North East region. You can view the projects via the archive either by region – Tyne and Wear, Durham or Teesside or typology. They also have a people section which features influential characters in politics, architecture, engineering and planning.
- 70 Best Landscape Architecture Blogs and WebsitesThe best Landscape Architecture blog list curated from thousands of blogs on the web and ranked by traffic, social media followers, domain authority & freshness.
- ArchDaily: Landscape architectureLandscape architecture projects on ArchDaily.
- archINFORMThis database contains over 74,000 built and unrealised projects from various architects and planners. You can search via architect, town or keyword.
- DEFRA - StatisticsThe Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA) publish national and official statistics relating to the environment, rural communities, food, farming and biosecurity.
- Dezeen: Landscape architectureLandscape architecture projects on Dezeen.
- Garden and Landscape DirectoryA source for garden and landscape-related online stores and service providers in the UK.
- Garden Museum, LambethThe Garden Museum explores and celebrates British gardens and gardening through its collection, temporary exhibitions, events and garden.
- LandezineLandezine was started in June of 2009. Since then it has been showcasing landscape architecture projects made by landscape architects and architects from around the globe.
- Landscape Architecture MagazineA monthly magazine of the American Society of Landscape Architects.
- Places JournalPlaces Journal is an essential online resource for any professional architects, including architecture, landscape, and urban design.
- Topos MagazineTopos Magazine is a famous online source for landscape architecture and urban design, featuring a wide range of topics and scale.
- Architects Registration BoardIndependent statutory regulator of all UK registered architects.
- Architecture FoundationThe Architecture Foundation is an independent architecture centre in the UK, which seeks to promote and encourage the best in contemporary architecture, and bring it to a wide public.
- Association of Environment Conscious BuildingThe website of the Association of Environment Conscious Building
- Building Research EstablishmentBuilding Research Establishment provides a variety of information on the built environment.
- Centre for Accessible EnvironmentsWebsite for the Centre for Accessible Environments
- Centre for the Urban Built EnivronmentWebsite for the Centre for the Urban Built Environment
- Chartered Institute of Architectural TechnologistsWebsite of the Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists
- Chartered Institute of BuildingWebsite of the Chartered Institute of Building
- Chartered Institute of HousingWebsite of the Chartered Institute of Housing
- Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers (CIBSE)The website of the Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers (CIBSE)
- Landscape InstituteThe website of the Landscape Institute
- Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local GovernmentInformation on Government policy and legal aspects of building and planning.
- Planning Officers SocietyDetailed technical guidance
- Planning PortalUK Government website containing a variety of information including building regulations and documentation.
- Royal Incorporation of Architects in ScotlandThe website of the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland
- Royal Institute of British ArchitectsThe website of the Royal Institute of British Architects
- Royal Institute of the Architects of IrelandThe website of the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland
- Royal Institution of Chartered SurveyorsThe website of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors
- TRADA (The Timber Research and Development Association)Students and lecturers at Higher Educational Institutions are able to register for free membership by using the Student Membership link and completing the online form.
- Abacus Construction Index USAAmerican based website aimed at construction professionals, architects and engineers, containing product related information.
- Archinet UKUK based website aimed at construction professionals, architects and engineers, containing product related information.
- Barbour Product SearchA database of products and suppliers for the construction industries, information includes images, case studies, technical data, news and project data.
- Building ConservationProvides information on products and services on building conservation.
- Building Products WebsiteWebsite of building product manufacturers and suppliers, aimed at the UK construction industry.
- The Construction CentreDirectory of manufacturers and suppliers of building materials and components. Searchable by product, brand or company. Also includes indexes of tradespeople, courses, jobs and trade shows.
- ESI.InfoESI's online product information service covering external works, building products, interior design and building services.
- External WorksA UK website for landscape architects and architects involved in landscaping projects needing information on topics and related products.
- MateriaWebsite providing free access to information on thousands of materials.
Material ConneXion by ISBN: 9780471754039Publication Date: 2005-11-11
- RIBA product selector plusThe RIBA Library Product Selector allows to find information on manufacturers, their products and services. We also have a printed copy available in the Philip Robinson Library at shelfmark 720 RIB
- SpecifiedBy.comFree website for product information and data - search thousands of products from around hundreds of manufacturers.
- SpecifinderBuilding product directory
- Specify IT
Online access to extensive information from building suppliers and manufacturers within the UK construction industry.
- External worksFind solutions to landscape and civil engineering projects from leading UK brands.
Resource Guides
Explore the different types of information available at the Library.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
