You’ll find the books you need to read for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas. For independent research, use an ‘everything except articles’ search on Library Search or browse our e-book collections.
Library Search
Library Search is our library catalogue; a powerful search engine that holds records for all the physical and electronic items that you have access to here at Newcastle University.
You can use Library Search to find a specific title or works by a particular author, or you can browse information available by topic. It’s an excellent place to start your independent research as it covers all subject areas.
Find out more about Library Search and how to search the catalogue effectively on the Library Search page of the Academic Skills Kit.
E-book Collections
Library Search enables you to search across all print and e-book collections. However, if you want to search / browse e-books from a particular supplier or collection, you’ll find links to subject specific e-book collections below:
- ACLS Humanities ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of high quality, full-text, academic e-books covering subjects in humanities and social sciences.
- BAR Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
An online collection of academic archaeological research, BAR Digital provides full text access to titles published from 1974 to date. It includes both BAR’s British and international series, and covers archaeological research, excavation reports and other important series from around the world.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series, with titles covering worldwide history from ancient to modern, as well as history of literature, language, music and theatre, philosophy, politics, and religion.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
We have access to more than 1,000 Oxford Handbooks on a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law. To find the Handbooks we have access to, go to Advanced Search and filter by: All content I have access to>Format: Book>Series: Oxford Handbooks.
- Oxford Scholarship Online: Classical Studies This link opens in a new window
An e-book collection of titles from Oxford University Press covering topics relevant to the field of Classical Studies. All titles are individually catalogued on Library Search, but you can browse them as a whole collection on the Oxford Academic site: select the subject drop-down menu, then Arts and Humanities > Classical Studies > Browse content in classical studies then filter by availability. Oxford Academic also allows you to search across all of our OUP books and journals.
- Pluto Press Collections (Academic Library ebooks) This link opens in a new windowOver 650 ebooks in politics, media, and cultural studies
- Classical Latin TextsThis website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of almost every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window
A digital edition of fragments and testimonia of Greek historians, and other authors from antiquity. Comprises five works, based on the original multi-volume work by Felix Jacoby: Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker I-III, Brill's New Jacoby, and Brill's New Jacoby, Second Edition.
- Loeb Classical Library Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Loeb Classical Library, containing volumes of Latin and Greek poetry, drama, oratory and more, together with English translations.
- Perseus Digital LibraryDigital library project that covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, and has expanded to cover other humanities areas.
- Thesaurus Linguae GraecaeContains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Related topics in Library Help
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
