LibGuides: Classics and Ancient History: Other resources

Every subject has unique and specialist types of information that add rigour and interest to research. Usually, you’ll need to look beyond Library Search for these information types; some are accessed via specialist databases, while others are available online via websites, social media or streaming platforms.

We’ve picked out some key resources for your subject here but you might like to explore our Resource Guides for more resources on different information types.

Newcastle University Special Collections and Archives
Unique and rare resources held by Newcastle University's Philip Robinson Library.
Great North Museum: Hancock Library
A unique library on the 2nd floor containing collections from the Society of Antiquaries Newcastle upon Tyne, the Natural History Society of Northumbria and the Cowen collection.
Shefton Collection
Brian Shefton (1919-2012) was an Emeritus Professor and an expert in Greek and Etruscan archaeology.
Beazley Archive
Sir John Beazley's archive, a classical art research centre containing images from classical art, including pottery, sculpture and inscriptions, and a dictionary.

Beazley Archive
Sir John Beazley's archive, a classical art research centre containing images from classical art, including pottery, sculpture and inscriptions, and a dictionary.
BBC Radio 4 In Our Time: History
Hundreds of episodes of the Radio 4 discussion programme focusing on many eras and topics in history.

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
Bridgeman Education (images) This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to over three million images, including paintings, posters, artefacts and photographs, from galleries and collections worldwide. All images are copyright-cleared for educational use, and cover a wide range of themes.

BAR Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
An online collection of academic archaeological research, BAR Digital provides full text access to titles published from 1974 to date. It includes both BAR’s British and international series, and covers archaeological research, excavation reports and other important series from around the world.
British History Online This link opens in a new window
Online collection of primary and secondary content relating to British and Irish history, and histories of empire and the British world. The collection focuses on the period between 1300 and 1800, including sources such as volumes of the Victoria County History and the Journals of the House of Commons and House of Lords. (Some material is accessible via a subscription only).

British Library Classics collections
Guides to the British Library's collections for Classical Studies. Note: This resource is currently unavailable owing to the cyber attack on the British Library.
Cambridge Ancient History
Full text of this major research series, enabling you to read and search all volumes.

Encyclopedia of Ancient History This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship covering the entire ancient Mediterranean world, with entries spanning the late Bronze Age through to tenth-century Byzantium.

Institute of Classical Studies library
Based in London, but you can search the catalogue online. A major resource for those working on research in the languages, literature, history, art, archaeology and philosophy of the ancient Greek and Roman worlds.

Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window
A digital edition of fragments and testimonia of Greek historians, and other authors from antiquity. Comprises five works, based on the original multi-volume work by Felix Jacoby: Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker I-III, Brill's New Jacoby, and Brill's New Jacoby, Second Edition.
Oxford Classical Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Fourth edition of this major reference work online. It contains entries relating to all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology.

Classical Latin Texts
This website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.

Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window
A digital edition of fragments and testimonia of Greek historians, and other authors from antiquity. Comprises five works, based on the original multi-volume work by Felix Jacoby: Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker I-III, Brill's New Jacoby, and Brill's New Jacoby, Second Edition.
Library of Latin Texts (series A and B) This link opens in a new window
Database of Latin texts of all genres, covering the period from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It includes all works from the classical period, important patristic works, and a corpus of Medieval Latin literature.
Loeb Classical Library Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Loeb Classical Library, containing volumes of Latin and Greek poetry, drama, oratory and more, together with English translations.

Perseus Digital Library
Digital library project that covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, and has expanded to cover other humanities areas.
Princeton University Library papyri collections
Over 500 digitised items, mainly Greek documentary papyri.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly all surviving texts written in Greek from the period between Homer (8th Century B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453, and large number of post-Byzantine texts (16th-20th Century. A.D.) The TLG requires all users to create a free TLG account. Click 'register' and fill in the online form.