When looking for academic journal articles you can use the 'everything' search in Library Search or search directly in the databases below, which we’ve selected as being most relevant to your subject area.
Databases are the best place to find academic journal articles as they offer advanced search tools, metric data, and export options for referencing. These databases also often provide access to information types such as conference papers, book chapters, review articles, trade magazines, and more. BrowZine can also be used to explore e-journal titles in your subject.
While most of our collection is now available digitally, some titles may only be accessible in print. You can find these journal titles using an ‘everything except articles’ search in Library Search.
You’ll also find links to essential reading for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas.
Key Databases and E-journal Collections
Databases will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. Where full text is not available, look for the
link and follow this to see if we have the full text available via Library Search.
Subject databases
Subject databases are tailored to particular subject areas. They tend to use precise terminology relating to the subject area, making searches more accurate, and can include subject specific tools and features.
- L'Année philologique This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of scholarly works, published since 1928, relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. The database covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy.
- BCIN Conservation This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic resource focusing on themes around the conservation, preservation and restoration of cultural property. The database includes conference proceedings, books, technical reports, journal articles, theses, audio-visual materials, software, and machine-readable files. Also includes the Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA) for the years 1955-1997.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An extensive reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th Century to the present. Index includes academic journals, books, conference papers, magazines, and more.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Database containing full-text works of poetry, prose and drama from the 8th century to the present day written in the English language, together with a library of historical and contemporary criticism, and reference resources. LION includes full-text scholarly journals covering all aspects of literary studies alongside literary index, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics
A collection of authoritative research guides, this database works like an annotated bibliography combined with encyclopaedia, providing direction to available scholarship in the field of Classical studies.
- AATA (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts)Comprehensive database of nearly 150,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
- Gnomon OnlineAccess to the complete journal Gnomon (since 1928) and the quarterly bibliographic appendix from 1990 onwards. The resource is augmented by the inclusion of the holdings of the Library of Eichstätt University in Classics, and holdings of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in Munich with its unique collection of books published in Classical Studies ("Sondersammelgebiet 6, 12"), plus some reference works.
- Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists (TOCS-IN)Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%).
Multidisciplinary databases
Much like Library Search, multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of topics and are a great place to scope your search, or to use if your topic covers more than one subject area.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers full access to scholarly journals, e-books, thematic collections, primary sources, and images (Artstor) across many subject areas.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAs a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource, this database indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications. It supports cited reference searching to explore the literature in depth, along with tools for citation tracking, author and affiliation searches, visual analysis of results, journal analysis, and author identification for those interested in publishing.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Part of the multidisciplinary Web of Science Core Collection database, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index provides coverage from 1975 to present, of articles from leading journals in a broad range of arts and humanities disciplines. Includes useful tools such as cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research and set up citation alerts; and author searching so you can quickly find experts in your field.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
