Skip to main content

EndNote

EndNote is a desktop and online application for storing and managing references. As well as finding and collecting reference data and full-text PDFs, it can help make your academic life a little easier by creating bibliographies and inserting citations into your documents as you write.  Use this guide to help you set up your EndNote Library, use Cite While You Write in Word and troubleshoot common EndNote issues.
Introduction
 
What is EndNote?

EndNote is reference management software designed to make your academic life a little easier by allowing you to build a collection of references for your research. It can help take the stress out of referencing properly, helping you organise your lists of references and create bibliographies.

It allows you to :

  • Find and import references downloaded from library search and databases directly into your EndNote library
  • Store, organise and search for references in your EndNote library
  • Add citations to your word-processed document and create your bibliography in a number of citation styles
So why use EndNote?
  • You need to provide accurate references to all the sources you use to avoid plagiarism - EndNote makes this easier!    
  • Using EndNote ensures you cite your references in the correct style for your School or purpose
  • The University supports EndNote, whereas it doesn't support other bibliographic software. Any problems or issues can be directed to the EndNote team.

There are lots of different types of reference management software available on the market and there aren't any definite answers about which piece of bibliographic software is the best one to use (although do check with your supervisor in case they have a particular view point on what you should use).

Choosing which software to use (if any!) is a personal choice and it needs to fit the way you are finding information, collecting references, note taking and much more.

More information, including comparison charts, can be found on our Referencing Guide, under Reference Management Software.