When looking for academic journal articles you can use the 'everything' search in Library Search or search directly in the databases below, which we’ve selected as being most relevant to your subject area.
Databases are the best place to find academic journal articles as they offer advanced search tools, metric data, and export options for referencing. These databases also often provide access to information types such as conference papers, book chapters, review articles, trade magazines, and more. BrowZine can also be used to explore e-journal titles in your subject.
While most of our collection is now available digitally, some titles may only be accessible in print. You can find these journal titles using an ‘everything except articles’ search in Library Search.
You’ll also find links to essential reading for your programme in your module reading lists on Canvas.
Key Databases and E-journal Collections
Databases will either provide you with the full text of the journal or they will give you the bibliographic details of an article. Where full text is not available, look for the
link and follow this to see if we have the full text available via Library Search.
Subject databases
Subject databases are tailored to particular subject areas. They tend to use precise terminology relating to the subject area, making searches more accurate, and can include subject specific tools and features.
Key Databases and eJournal Collections
- AATA (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts)Comprehensive database of nearly 150,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
- BCIN Conservation This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic resource focusing on themes around the conservation, preservation and restoration of cultural property. The database includes conference proceedings, books, technical reports, journal articles, theses, audio-visual materials, software, and machine-readable files. Also includes the Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA) for the years 1955-1997.
- Business Source UltimateBusiness Source Ultimate is a full text database providing peer reviewed journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. It includes company profiles, business cases, SWOT analyses and industry and market reports.
- CNKI China Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
Searchable database providing full-text access to academic journal articles in Social Sciences and Humanities subject areas from China and beyond. Our subscription covers topics: Literature, History, Philosophy (F), Economics, Politics, Law (G), Education, Social Sciences (H) and Economics/Management (J).
- Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of academic journals, magazines, and images relating to film and television studies. Includes topics such as cinematography, film and television theory, preservation and restoration, production, screenwriting, technical aspects and reviews.
- Film and Media Studies journalsA-Z list of links to online, open access, English-language Film and Media Studies related e-journals, plus other relevant scholarly, journal websites with at least some OA content.
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Fully digitised archives of 26 LGBT publications, mainly from the UK and USA. Coverage dates from 1954 to 2015 (depending on the specific publication).
- Policy Commons: Global Think TanksGlobal Think Tanks is a collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. It provides in-depth search and access to some 5 million reports from over 25,000 organisations.
- Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new windowThe largest database of online music journalism, providing access to thousands of interviews, reviews and articles about artists of all genres, from Aaliyah to ZZ Top. Coverage dates back 50 years, and also includes 500 audio interviews.
- Women's Magazine ArchiveA searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Subject coverage includes consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history.
All databases should have a help section with tips and tricks on how to get the best out of using them, so do make yourself familiar with them. You also may find the following helpful:
Film and Television Literature Index
- EBSCO HostVideo Tutorials of help and support. Useful when learning how to use The Film and Television Literature Index.
JSTOR
- JSTOR supportHelp and support on how to search on JSTOR
Scopus
- Scopus supportHelp and support on how to access and use Scopus.
Business Source Complete
- EBSCO Host supportVideo Tutorials of help and support. Useful when learning how to use the Historical Abstracts database.
Multidisciplinary databases
Much like Library Search, multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of topics and are a great place to scope your search, or to use if your topic covers more than one subject area.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers full access to scholarly journals, e-books, thematic collections, primary sources, and images (Artstor) across many subject areas.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAs a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource, this database indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications. It supports cited reference searching to explore the literature in depth, along with tools for citation tracking, author and affiliation searches, visual analysis of results, journal analysis, and author identification for those interested in publishing.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
