Skip to main content
 

Law: Databases & Resources

Library and information resources for staff and students in Newcastle Law School

Finding legal materials, including case law and journal articles

Legal research is an essential skill and involves the identification and location of quality legal material, including law reports and academic journal articles. We recommend you use the 'Databases & Resources' listed on this page, in addition to our general Database, Electronic Journal and miscellaneous collections.

These are not exhaustive lists and access to some resources may require a Newcastle University campus ID and password.

Useful Twitter Accounts for Legal Databases

Many legal resources and organisations have their own social media accounts, you may like to follow or bookmark some of these:

LexisNexis LawCampus on Twitter | @lawcampus

Halsbury's Law Exchange on Twitter | @HLEthinktank

HeinOnline on Twitter | @HeinOnline

The ICLR on Twitter | @TheICLR

Justis on Twitter | @JustisPub

Lexis UK Cases on Twitter | @LexisUK_Cases

LexisNexis UK on Twitter | @LexisNexisUK

LexisUK Legislation on Twitter | @LexisUK_Legn

Ncl Uni Law Library (your own!) | @nclliblaw

Newcastle Law School on Twitter | @nclroblib

Philip Robinson Library on Twitter | @WestlawUK

Westlaw UK on Twitter | @WestlawUK

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

BAILII

On-campus and off-campus: click on the BAILII icon in the BAILII tab or access the site directly. A username and password is not required.

BAILII is a free resource which is best searched directly. Help on how to do this effectively is available here: www.bailii.org/bailii/help/

Looking for a case with a medium neutral citation is simple using the Browse search option, e.g. Marley v Rawlings [2014] UKSC 2, [2015] AC 129.

Click on United Kingdom (the UK part of the citation):

  

This gives the UK breakdown of resources available; note the English Reports are those cases pre-dating 1865 (located in the British Law Reports room of the Law Library).

The citation gives UKSC as the court abbreviation and this is the Supreme Court (the SC part of the citation):

Select 2014 (the date in the citation):

Click on the link for Marley v Rawlings (case no. 2):

See? Easy. :)

BAILII also offers open access to the Law Commission reports and consultation papers: www.bailii.org/ew/other/EWLC/

Loading

JustCite

On-campus: click on the JustCite icon in the JustCite tab or you can access our resources using Library Search. A username and password is not required.

Off-campusclick on the JustCite icon in the JustCite tab or you can access our resources using Library Search.

Click on Personal Sign In on the homepage
Select Your Home Institution
From the drop-down menu, select Newcastle University
Enter your Newcastle University campus ID and password

There is a wide range of resources to assist you with using JustCite, all available from their homepage.

What is JustCite?

Access the Quick Start guide (.PDF): www.justcite.com/Content/JustCite-Quick-Start-Guide.pdf

Watch the JustCite training videos (see: Resources - Training Videos)

Read the Justis Blog: blog.justis.com/

The interactive JustCite Precedent Map is an extremely useful tool. Used to visualise relationships between cases and finding other cases which are related to your research.

More information is available here: www.justcite.com/Help/PrecedentMap

Loading

LexisLibrary

On-campus: click on the LexisLibrary icon in the LexisLibrary tab or you can access our resources using Library Search. You will be asked to accept their terms and conditions.

Off-campusclick on the LexisLibrary icon in the LexisLibrary tab or you can access our resources using Library Search.

Click on Academic Sign In on the homepage
Use the drop-down menu to select UK ACCESS MANAGEMENT FEDERATION and click Go
From the alphabetical list on the screen, click on Newcastle University
Enter your Newcastle University campus ID and password

Access a variety of .pdf user guides and Video Tips for Lexis®Library at the LexisLibrary training and support site.

There are also mini videos on the YouTube channel for you to watch.

Keep up-to-date with LexisNexis Blogs: news, views, commentary and analysis on legal topics.

Newcastle Law School LLB students may find this resource useful: How to use Halsbury's Laws in print and What's New in Halsbury's Laws.


Your 2017/18 LexisNexis Student Associate is Caitlin Halliday. She is based in Newcastle Law School & Law Library.

Caitlin is here to assist you with any LexisNexis enquiries you may have (in addition to the Law Library staff). You can email her, drop-in to see her in the Law Library's Eldon Cluster, Newcastle Law School or arrange a one-to-one session. Emails will be sent to all Newcastle Law School students to remind you of her availability.

Things you need to know about LexisLibrary:

  • LexisLibrary is used by all of the top 100 law firms in the UK
  • Contains full-text of amended and consolidated UK legislation since 1267
  • Most comprehensive range of general and specialist law reports, including The Law Reports and the All England Law Reports
  • Halsbury's Laws of England and Wales is unique to LexisLibrary and the only complete narrative statement of the law of England and Wales
  • You can search and browse over 100 full-text UK law journals from a range of publishers including CUP and OUP

What are Halsbury's Laws of England? They are an excellent starting point for any legal research. See this blog entry for more information: http://blog.lawbore.net/2013/11/halsburys-laws-of-england-whats-it-for/.

Loading

Westlaw UK

On-campus: click on the Westlaw icon in the Westlaw tab or you can access our resources using Library Search.

Off-campusclick on the Westlaw icon in the Westlaw tab or you can access our resources using Library Search.
If you are having trouble logging on then you can try this link: http://login.westlaw.co.uk/maf/wluk/api/tocectory?sttype=stdtemplate&stnew=true


Access Westlaw UK directly: http://legalresearch.westlaw.co.uk/

Click on LOG IN TO YOUR SERVICE and Academic: Organisation Name on the homepage
Search for Newcastle University or use the alphabetical drop-down menu to locate our institution and click on Newcastle University
Click Continue

Enter your Newcastle University campus ID and password

What does Westlaw UK have? Access the Content & Coverage Factsheet for more information. Some journal and law report titles can be accessed via Library Search using the View Online tab, e.g. Public Law.

Watch the Westlaw UK training tutorials.

The Westlaw UK Student User Guide is available here (.pdf).


Your 2017/18 Westlaw UK Student Representative is Sarah Lowe. She is based in Newcastle Law School & Law Library and her details are below.

Sarah is here to assist you with any Westlaw enquiries you may have (in addition to the Law Library staff). You can email her, drop-in to see her in the Law Library's Eldon Cluster or arrange a one-to-one session. Emails will be sent to all Newcastle Law School students to remind you of her availability.

Westlaw UK has two special features which we use at Newcastle University:

1) The Legal Journals Index allows you to search over 0.5 million UK and EU journal abstracts in addition to over 110 full-text journals - all at once!

You can free text (or keyword) search or browse the Legal Journals Index to identify journal articles in your subject area. The Legal Journals Index Abstract will help you identify if a journal article is relevant to your research; any legislation or cases cited within the article will also be identified and linked - saving valuable time.

If the full-text of an article is not available within Westlaw UK then you can go back to Library Search and see if it is available from another resource - such as your Law Library shelves!

Access the Legal Journals Index (LJI) under the Journals menu option from the Westlaw UK homescreen.


2) Westlaw UK hosts the Common Law Library titles all law staff and students use throughout their studies and professional lives. The Common Law Library is known for its authoritative and comprehensive coverage of common law.

See the Westlaw UK eLearning Module for more information:

Access the Common Law Library titles under the Books menu option from the Westlaw UK homescreen.

Hey, the cover of the Westlaw UK Books & Looseleafs Brochure looks familiar - haway the Toon!

Loading

WestlawNext (International/Thomson Reuters)

Access WestlawNext via Westlaw UK
Login using your Newcastle University campus ID and password; select Services and International Materials from the menu at the top of the screen to launch WestlawNext.

Need to know how to login to Westlaw UK?

On-campus: click on the Westlaw icon in the Westlaw tab or you can access our resources using Library Search.

Off-campusclick on the Westlaw icon in the Westlaw tab or you can access our resources using Library Search.
If you are having trouble logging on then you can try this link: http://login.westlaw.co.uk/maf/wluk/api/tocectory?sttype=stdtemplate&stnew=true


Access Westlaw UK directly: http://legalresearch.westlaw.co.uk/

Click on LOG IN TO YOUR SERVICE and Academic: Organisation Name on the homepage
Search for Newcastle University or use the alphabetical drop-down menu to locate our institution and click on Newcastle University
Click Continue

Enter your Newcastle University campus ID and password

Using WestlawNext to access international materials? Take a look at the WestlawNext Training & Support pages, including video tutorials and thGetting Started User Guide.

Access the WestlawNext Basics Guides (.pdf):
Ten Quick Tips for Using Westlaw
Searching Case Law on Westlaw
Searching Statutes on Westlaw

New! The Thomson Reuters Westlaw Student User Guide for 2017 showing how to access US and International Materials effectively through your Westlaw UK service.

Loading

ICLR - The Law Reports

The Law Reports are available in hard copy format from the Law Library and can be accessed online on Campus via LexisLibrary and Westlaw UK.

On-campus: click on the LexisLibrary icon in the LexisLibrary tab or you can access our resources using Library Search. You will be asked to accept their terms and conditions.

On-campus: click on the Westlaw icon in the Westlaw tab or you can access our resources using Library Search.

For off-campus access, see the LexisLibrary and Westlaw Access entries listed above within this Subject Guide section.

The Law Reports can also be comprehensively searched and accessed using the JustCite tool.

The ICLR has a YouTube channel with a variety of features. We recommend A History of the ICLR for a background of the history of law reporting and the creation of The Law Reports.

This:

Practice Direction (Citation of Authorities) [2012] 1 WLR 780

See http://iclr.netforce.hosting/about/ for more information.

Loading

HeinOnline

HeinOnline

On-campus: click on the HeinOnline icon in the HeinOnline tab or you can access our resources using Library Search.

Off-campus: click on the HeinOnline icon in the HeinOnline tab, access our resources using Library Search or go directly to the HeinOnline website. Type 'Newcastle University' into the Off-Campus/Remote Access search window and click Login. You will be asked for your Newcastle University Campus ID and password.

HeinOnline login

 

HeinOnline App

HeinOnline App:
More information on the installation and use of the App is available here - home.heinonline.org/heinonline-app/

 

 

 

 

HeinOnline One Box Search Widget

HeinOnline Help & Supporthttp://help.heinonline.org/ and the HeinOnline YouTube Channel: www.youtube.com/heinonline08

HeinOnline Law Journal Library 

 HeinOnline English Reports 

 HeinOnline Women and the Law  

HeinOnline One Box Search Widget

Loading

Society for Computers and the Law (SCL)

SCL - The IT Law Community is the leading UK organisation for legal professionals advising and practising within the IT sector. SCL membership extends across the globe. Keep up to date with the constant changes created by the heady pace of technological change with the unrivalled coverage of IT legal issues on the SCL website.

You can access the SCL website to browse articles, news, events, webinars and blogs by logging in via the UK Access Management Federation using your Newcastle University campus ID and password.

Loading

SSRN

The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is at the forefront of online sharing of social science research working papers. SSRN allows authors to upload papers without charge, and any paper an author uploads to SSRN is downloadable for free, worldwide.

SSRN has changed its interface of late; more information on its improved accessibility is here: ssrnblog.com/2016/10/05/welcome-to-the-new-ssrn/

Loading

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites and more, with the stated mission of "universal access to all knowledge". This can be a valuable source of historic legal material, for example, Oppenheim's International Law (1905) and MacQueen's Practical Treatise (1842).

archive.org offers a very simple search engine but the advanced search screen gives more information on how to fine tune your search using terms, operators, queries and grouping: https://archive.org/advancedsearch.php 

Loading

Lawbore™

Devised by Emily Allbon, City Law School (London), Lawbore is a collection of legal resources selected to highlight the best sources of information for LLB undergraduates. This includes resources for mooting, subjects including equity, the English Legal System, the EU and careers.

Miscellaneous Resources

Resources for interest:

Steve Peers (ed), 'EU Law Analysis: Expert Insight into EU Law Developments' (Blog, 2017) <http://eulawanalysis.blogspot.co.uk/> accessed 9 October 2017

The Honourable Society of the Middle Temple | 'Brexit' (Middle Temple, March 2017) <www.middletemple.org.uk/library-archive/library/electronic-resources/links-lawyers/brexit> accessed 9 October 2017 

GlobaLex | Lillian Stevenson and Dr Catrin Fflur Huws, 'Researching Applicable Law in Wales - What is Unique in Wales?' (GlobaLex, January 2017) <www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/Wales1.html> accessed 9 October 2017