Find out about the books you need from your module reading lists, recommendations from academic staff and student recommendations too! You will find them all in Library Search.
As a student or researcher at Newcastle University, you have access to over half million eBooks via Library Search. You can search for eBooks using simple keywords from your topic, by title or author. The Full Text Online filter in Library Search allows you to restrict your results to those titles available for you to read remotely. You will be asked to log in with your University user ID and password.
eBooks enable you to read your essential titles online, download sections or chapters, keep electronic notes and search within the book for the most relevant sections.
In addition to searching for books, you can also browse within collections available from our eBook providers. The links below will take you to a few of the collections most relevant for you, and you will find more suggestions on your Subject Guide.
eBook collections
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central delivers a breadth and depth of e-books from scholarly sources, including university presses and other top publishers.
- IEEE/Wiley eBooks This link opens in a new window
IEEE Wiley eBook collection provides full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
- IEEE Xplore MIT Press eBooks Library : Computing & Engineering Collection. This link opens in a new window
The MIT Press eBooks Library offers access to titles in computer science, artificial intelligence, information technology and electrical engineering.
- IET Digital Library eBooks This link opens in a new window
E-books published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), and covers topics such as built environment, computing, robotics, energy, radar, sonar, navigation, telecommunications, transportation and more! **Please note that we only have access to full text eBooks from 2009-2023**
- Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
As well as all aspects of engineering, Knovel is useful for biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology and chemistry. Subjects covered include technical reference books. There are Interactive graphs and tables,material and substance properties data and interactive equations. The Data Search tool can be used to build queries around different materials or substances.
- Royal Society of Chemistry eBook Collection Complete This link opens in a new windowThe RSC eBook Collection is a definitive point of reference for anyone working in the chemical sciences. Over 1000 books, equating to over 20,000 chapters spanning more than 40 years, have been brought together and digitised as fully-searchable pdf files.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink eBooks cover all subjects. In the SpringerLink search bar type 'Lecture Notes in' to discover complete collections for your subject area.
- World Scientific Books: Materials Science This link opens in a new windowContains full text titles covering subjects including ceramics, polymers, crystals and crystallography, superconductivity & magnetic materials, surface science, electron microscopy, scanning and tunneling and more.
How to access eBooks
Using the Full Text Online filter in Library Search will ensure that you are able to limit your results to titles available to you in Singapore when you log in with your University user ID and password. Watch the video below for tips on finding and accessing eBooks remotely.