We have thousands of journals and databases selected by your Schools to support teaching and research. There are so many, that it can be difficult to know which ones are the best to use, so we have grouped them together for you! Use the 'everything' search in Library Search to find articles, conference papers, journals and more, or Browzine to browse the e-journal titles in your subject.
Finding e-journal articles and conference papers
As a student or researcher at Newcastle University, you have access to over 50,000 electronic journal titles and the full text articles within them. Our Library collection also includes conference proceedings and papers, technical and professional literature and you can find it all in Library Search.
You can search for individual journal titles recommended by your lecturers, or identify articles relevant for your topic using keywords or article details. To get started with the Everything option in Library Search, watch the short video below.
How to access e-journal articles
Databases
Bibliographic databases give you an overview of the literature in a subject area. They provide an index to journal articles and conference papers from a wide range of publishers. Many of these databases provide an abstract of a paper, but not always the full text. Accessing the databases from a Newcastle University subscription via Library Search, will ensure that you are able to access the full text where it is available and use the Find at Newcastle University links available in the databases to identify where full text is accessible from an alternative resource.
You will find a full list of databases available for your programme on your Subject Guide, and below we have highlighted the broader resources relevant to all NUIS and NewRIIS students.
Recommended databases for NUIS subject areas
- Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex® in Engineering Village is an interdisciplinary engineering database with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. Numeric data is indexed so results can be filtered within specific data parameters.
- IEEExplore This link opens in a new windowDelivers full text access to high quality technical literature (journal articles, conference papers and standards) from the IEEE and IET.
- Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAs well as all aspects of engineering, Knovel is useful for biotechnology, computing, food science, marine technology, molecular biology and chemistry. Subjects covered include technical reference books. There are Interactive graphs and tables,material and substance properties data and interactive equations. The Data Search tool can be used to build queries around different materials or substances.
- OnePetro This link opens in a new windowOnePetro is a unique library of technical documents and journal articles serving the oil and gas exploration and production industry. It includes full text of many conference proceedings, such as the Offshore Technology Conference
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large, multidisciplinary database, which indexes peer reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and trade publications. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research and set up citation alerts. Other useful tools include citation overviews, author and affiliation searching, visual analysis of search results and a journal analyser and author identifier tools (if you are interested in publishing work).
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database, which indexes scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. It provides cited reference searching, so you can navigate forward and backward through the literature to uncover all the information relevant to your research. Use citation reports to see citation activity and geographical trends and the ‘analyse results’ tool to identify trends and publication patterns.
