Skip to main content
 

Maps: Home

Maps in the Robinson Library

Maps, both print and digital can be a useful source of information across a range of different disciplines. Current town and land maps can provide many levels of detail across a range of infrastructure, while historical maps can demonstrate development across the centuries. Other thematic maps also offer Social and Physical Science disciplines the chance to map societal or environmental trends.
The printed map collection is on Level 4. Special Collections also contains some printed historic maps.

    

Online access to maps is provided through Digimap. Once registered, you can login using your campus ID. Find out more about Digimap on the Digimap page

Freely available mapping services

Guide to the Level 4 Map Collection

Outlines the detailed contents of the collection and gives hints on finding maps in the Robinson Library. This handout also provides some help deciphering scale.

[PDF 0.3MB]

Map Cabinets in the Robinson Library

The Robinson Library has a collection of Ordnance Survey and Geological Survey maps, with indexes to the maps kept on top of the map cabinets.

An Introduction to Digimap

Newcastle Maps Online

Newcastle Maps Online

http://gis.newcastle.gov.uk/mapsonline/map.asp?wid=1024&browsertype=ie

A site run by Newcastle City Council which allows you to Newcastle maps with the ability to view by Ward and to view aerial photography.

There are menus on the left-hand side where you can overlay various types of information such as the location of schools, libraries, recycling point, bus-stops, listed buildings, conservation areas, sports centres, parks, cycle routes etc.