Every subject has unique and specialist types of information that add rigour and interest to research. Usually, you’ll need to look beyond Library Search for these information types; some are accessed via specialist databases, while others are available online via websites, social media or streaming platforms.
We’ve picked out some key resources for your subject here but you might like to explore our Resource Guides for more resources on different information types.
- Gale Primary Sources
Search across multiple historic archives from Gale, including historic newspaper collections, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), and Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO).
- History of Advertising TrustLargest archive of British advertising in the world.
- Mintel Marketing Intelligence This link opens in a new window
As a globally recognised market analyst, Mintel produces hundreds of reports into UK-specific consumer markets every year. Our subscription provides access to Reports (in-depth analysis of sectors and the most useful resource in Mintel), Insights (short analysis of topics), and News (short bits of news about brands or sectors). We do not subscribe to all the Reports on Mintel, currently we have access to: Automotive, Beauty and personal care, Clothing and footwear, Drink, Food, Health and Wellbeing, Home retailing, Household care, Media, Retail, and Technology.
- BARB (Broadcasters' Audience Research Board)TV viewing figures for the UK. We don't have a susbcription to the full data, but this site explains which data is available free of charge for academic research purposes.
- BBC ArchiveThemed collections from the BBC archives, including TV and radio clips as well as background information.
- BBC Genome: TV listingsContains the BBC listings information printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.
- BBC Written ArchivesHolds the BBC’s working papers resulting from all aspects of the BBC's business from 1922 to the 1980s. This includes files of correspondence with contributors, programme and policy material together with a vast collection of scripts and press cuttings. These archives come from all parts of the BBC.
- CineuropaNews and information about European films, directors and actors, together with reports on different aspects of the film industry and country-specific cinema profiles
- European Film GatewayHundreds of thousands of items relating to the history of film-making in Europe. Content includes films, photos, posters and censorship documents, and comes from 16 different film archives and cinemathèques.
- Film industry statistics and researchA range of regularly updated statistics and reports from the British Film Institute.
- Media History Digital LibraryA non-profit initiative dedicated to digitising collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. Over 200,000 pages scanned and growing. The collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.
- Moving Image GatewayBUFVC gateway of nearly 1,400 sites relating to moving image and sound materials, arranged by subject.
- Radio Joint Audience Research (RAJAR)RAJAR is the official body in charge of measuring national and local radio audiences in the UK. Detailed statistics are released every quarter.
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
- EUscreenFree online access to video, stills and audio from selected European broadcasters from 1900-present. Includes French, German and Catalan broadcasters amongst others.
- Free films onlineOver 4,000 films online from the Open Culture site.
- Free movies: Internet ArchiveThousands of films online, including full-length feature films, classic shorts, home movies, world culture documentaries and movie trailers.
- News on ScreenContains 170,000 records of British newsreel and cinemagazine production and a large collection of digitised documents, including production documents, oral histories and details of people, series and stories linked to newsreels.
Resource Guides
Explore the different types of information available at the Library.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
